Where is Home

My school to me is in many ways very special to me. It is home to me and has helped me discover more of who I really am. Being a college student comes with many challenges, but those challenges are truly worth it. At my school, my club is like family to me and we are a service club. I am able to show my true passion when I spend time with my club. Next semester, new officers had to elected. I am now officially president of my club, which sounds scary, but is going to be so worth it in the end. The officers and I are trying to preserve the club because we have been a struggling club this year.

It is not just my club that makes my school so meaningful. It is the community and all of my school  is more like my extended family. Someone on Campus once said to me that God wanted me at this college because I bring light to the Campus. Thinking of light, attending the Gathering, our student-led worship service, has helped me strengthen my spirituality and I want to develop it even further.

The events I do with student activities also makes my time at this school so worth it. I do stuff such as hikes, pinterest nights, movie nights, and even making gingerbread houses. .Two memories I did with student activities did not happen on Campus. The first is that my school took fifty of us to see Wicked in January and I was one of those students. There was something special about seeing a meaningful musical of my life with a meaningful school. It was cool how I got to see this musical a fourth time after ten years of falling in love with it. The second memory with student activities outside of school is my trip to Disney World. It was not just a trip to Disney because we got to learn leadership skills firsthand through the eyes of Disney. We got to spend the rest of the time exploring and enjoying the theme parks without chaperones. I literally felt like a five year being at the different parks and I was able to see all four parks and got a character meal every night.

Another aspect of the social side of college is attending shows at our two theaters. This semester I got the wonderful opportunity to be box office manager. I helped sell tickets during both shows and I even was able to watch them for one of the nights. Next semester, I cannot wait till “Little Shop of Horrors”, the musical they are doing.

It might seem crazy that living in a room will be like home. But what I refer to as home is the entire campus. I am so glad that I am able to call my school home and that is helped me strengthen my spirituality, discover more of who I am, challenged me, and helped me grow more independent. While college has its challenges, I love being a college student. I have made some wonderful friends. There is more I could say about how much my school means to me, but have no words just to say why Gardner Webb has truly changed me for the better.

Finding Your Place

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

2 thoughts on “Where is Home”

  1. Your blog is so thoughtful and cute!! I love how you write often and the writing has real value, not just random facts or thoughts. Keep at it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

