God Bless Us Everyone

Last night, my first day of Christmas Break began. That same night, I watched the movie, “A Christmas Carol”. It is a movie I grew up with and it is also a well known Charles Dickens classic. It is truly a story about redemption and the true meaning of Scrooge. Scrooge was a grumpy, greedy and old man at the beginning, but at the end he learned a lesson and become a more compassionate and thoughtful man. In the middle of the night, he was visited by three spirits, who are the ghosts of Christmas past, Christmas present, and Christmas future.

The first spirit showed him why he became to be the man that he is today. Scrooge did not have a very good past and the idea of money and greed took over him. His father was not a very good man and treated Scrooge unfairly. Scrooge fall in love with Belle, but his desire for money made Belle leave him.

The ghost of Christmas present  showed him the houses of Mr. Cratchit, a poor man who works for him and the house of Fred, his nephew. Mr. Cratchit has a crippled young son, Tiny Tim. Tiny Tim has such strong spirit despite his disability and when Scrooge was visited by Ghost of Christmas Present, he learned to have sympathy for Tiny Tim and his family. It showed him the party of Fred and Scrooge never attends his Nephew’s parties, but he was reminded of the love he had for his sister.

But the Ghost of Christmas future is really haunting. This ghost shows him what will happen if some events are not altered. If he does not fix things, Tiny Tim will die and when Scrooge dies, no one will have respect for his death.

Through all of these spirits, Scrooge learned a valuable lesson. He learned to truly celebrate Christmas and he did once call it a humbug. He decided to buy Mr. Cratchit the biggest turkey ever and decided to raise that man’s salary to help his family. He became like a second father to Tiny Tim and Tim did walk again. He decided to be compassionate towards the poor and started donating to help the poor.

While watching Christmas Carol, I couldn’t help but notice similarities between Victor Hugo and Charles Dickens. They both wrote classic in the 1800s, which is the time period of Romanticism, a time period where emotions truly mattered. Their stories all have some focus on the poor and both have the theme of redemption. Considering the fact that they wrote in the 1800s, both wrote stories after Revolutionary time period, which means they were living in the aftermath of these Revolutions.

Watching Christmas Carol was a good start to break. That was like a nice transition because today I am going to start to read Dickens’ “Great Expectations”.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

3 thoughts on “God Bless Us Everyone”

  1. I am also a huge Dickens fan. I remember that I was in the middle of reading “Great Expectations” when my son, John, crossed over 2 1/2 years ago. I never did finish it and was not able to pick it up again. Since I put up the tree for the first time this year since that fateful day and have come such a long way in my grief healing, I am going to finish “Great Expectations”. Thanks for the reminder and Merry Christmas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

