“As Long As Your’e Mine” Analysis

Possible Spoilers:

This love duet is in Wicked. As a bit of a backstory, in the first act, Elphaba sings I’m Not That Girl, which is about her unrequited love for Fiyero. However at the beginning of act 2 during “Thank Goodness”, Fiyero hears all of these rude and hateful comments about Elphaba. As a result, he realizes that he loves Elphaba and breaks up with Glinda. That plot twist in the love triangle is something no one would see coming.

The song, “As Long As Your’e Mine”, happens after Fiyero sneaks into the Wizard’s palace dressed as one of the guards. Glinda sees all of this happen and feels betrayed by both Fiyero and Elphaba. I find this scene to be mystical because it happens in a forest surrounded by fog. It has a mature sound to it because a couple years have passed between the first act and the second act. It shows that Elphaba has matured as a person and so has Fiyero. Elphaba’s dress and her makeup shows that Elphaba has matured. I love this scene in Elphaba’s beautiful dress and Fiyero’s light green outfit with the lantern. The two know this might be the only time they can confess their love for each other due to Elphaba being an outcast. There is just something wonderful about this particular scene in Wicked.

images

What are your opinions about this scene?

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/11/18/love-triangle-of-wicked/

Mystical

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

