Beyond the Barricade

Major Spoilers

By the end of Les Mis, all my favorite characters have died. The only survivors are Marius, Cosette, and the Thenardiers. I thought it would be interesting to see which of these surviving characters is my favorite. Between all four, Marius is my favorite and I know I am in the minority on this. Lots of people dislike him just because he is oblivious to Eponine’s unrequited feelings for him and that he doesn’t love her. Don’t forget you can’t choose who you fall in love with. This love triangle in fact provides an amazing texture to the musical.

unknown

The thing I love about Marius is the compassion and love that he is capable of. I even love how he matures after the trauma he faced on the barricade. We first meet him when time changes to 1832 and he discover that he has a passion for the uprising and is trying to rally supporters from the streets of Paris. During that same scene, Marius bumps into Cosette and is instantly in love with her. He struggles with balancing between these two passions and all he ever seems to sing about is Cosette. Knowing that Eponine is so streetwise, he ask her to find Cosette’s address and Eponine is reluctant because she loves him. This might seem like Marius is being a jerk to Eponine, but in reality he really isn’t.

If you actually think about it, Marius never treated Eponine poorly. Marius is probably the only person in her life that shows her any kindness. To Eponine, Marius means a lot because he is the only source of light in her dark and miserable life. Everyone thinks Marius and Eponine should be together, but I don’t believe they should. I don’t think Les Mis would be the same if Eponine ended up with Marius in the end.

In the musical, Eponine and Marius are shown as friends and he also is aware of how dark her life is, but is aware of her toughness and bravery. You might also think he is a jerk just because he is oblivious to Eponine’s feelings for him, but lets not forget that she never told him she loved him.

Then there is the scene at the beginning of act two. He once again asks Eponine to do an errand for him, which once again is dealing with Cosette. He asks Eponine to deliver a letter to Cosette and that might seem rude as well, but it really isn’t. He only was trying to protect her from the uprising. Eponine does not listen to Marius and returns to the barricades and gets caught in the crossfire and gets fatally wounded herself. This is when Marius shows her the most compassion. When Marius realizes that she is fatally wounded, he never leaves her side and gives her peace and comfort till her death. This does devastate Marius, but at least he does care about Eponine and that she does mean something to him.

images-1

Marius faces even more trauma at the barricades after all of his friends died and he almost got killed himself. Luckily Jean Valjean was there because Valjean rescued Marius. Marius heals from his wounds and he suffered from survivor’s guilt. Cosette helped him recover from his wounds. At the end of the show, Marius and Cosette have lost everything important to them except for each other. Cosette’s adopted father died and Marius’ friends died. I love Marius and Cosette together and they both have faced trauma in their life and they are still young. They ended up married and the reason why I love them together is due to the fact that Cosette is supposed to represent hope and light in the midst of this tragic tale.

Of the characters who live, who is your favorite Les Mis character?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

8 thoughts on “Beyond the Barricade”

  1. I agree! Marius isn’t a bad character and out of the survivors, he’s definitely my favorite. Especially in reading the book I liked him more. I think that as time goes on I appreciate him more and more.

    Like

      1. That’s very true. I feel like a lot of the people in the fandom picture him as a whiny person. Which he really isn’t. And, like you said, a lot of people seem to dislike him mostly because he didn’t love Éponine. Which is a pretty absurd reason not to like someone, really.

        Like

      2. Yeah. And really, I think that the story wouldn’t be as good if he had loved Éponine. I mean, sure, it’d be happy for her, but part of the wonderful thing about Les Miz is that it’s not all about life being great and wonderful.

        Like

      3. I agree with everything you just said. Les Mis is truly about humanity and it shows that life is not happy all the time. I don’t think Les Mis would be the same if another character had actually lived. I do not think it would the sensation if it was less tragic. It shows this is what happens in life sometimes.

        I even have a blog post talking more about the love triangle and have one talking about why Les Mis is so universal.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. A lot of the reason why Les Miz is one of my favorite musicals is because of it’s portrayal of humanity in a really realistic way. If it lost that, I’m not sure that I would love it as much as I do.

        Like

      5. So very true. I know why I love Les Mis so much, but can’t explain why. There is just something so human about Les Mis. It is truly a tale of hope, compassion, love, forgiveness, sacrifice, humanity, and redemption. But at the same time is so heartbreaking and tragic. I love how the inspirational side and the heartbreaking side of this musical interlock together

        Like

Leave a Reply

