Musicals I want to see live

This is a list of musicals I hope to see live.

  1. Rent
  2. Les Mis-yes it is back on the list, I want to be able to see the new production and want to also see the musical in Spanish
  3. Lion King
  4. Beauty and the Beast
  5. Once
  6. King and I
  7. West Side Story

Yes, this list is small. Even though I love musicals, it sometimes is hard to know which ones you want to eventually see live. Two of these I might be able to watch next year. Both “King and I” and “Rent” are coming to my hometown in 2017.

But the ultimate one for next year would be “Rent”. I fell in love with that musical four years ago by listening to the songs through Pandora. I just love the message that “Rent” provides. It reminds you of how precious life is and that we should live every moment as if its our last and that we should measure our lives in love.

As for “King and I”, I was recommended to see it. I have loved Rodgers and Hammerstein since elementary school due to my love for “Sound of Music”. I even eventually got to watch the movies of “South Pacific”, “Oklahoma”, and “Cinderella” and they all were Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals and even those were amazing. What could go wrong with Rodgers and Hammerstein?

I saw “Beauty and the Beast” and “Lion King” when I was younger. But I don’t remember seeing them live. That is why I hope to see them again. There was a time when I lost touch with both of them. But when I started listening to the songs again though Pandora, I knew that I had to see them both again some day.

The main reason why I want to see “West Side Story” is just to see how the dancing would work on stage. I saw the movie and thought it was great, but not amazing. It is not a favorite musical, but is liked enough to have the music. “West Side Story” is based off of “Romeo and Juliet” and is drawn through the dance.

I saw the movie of “Once” a couple months ago. I wanted to see the stage show first, but never got around to. I just want to see how this musical would work considering the fact that there is no orchestra. But instead, the actors play the instruments on stage, which makes sense because the characters are musicians.

I know I already saw “Les Mis” live four times already, but am not done yet. I really want to see what the new 25th anniversary production is like, which came out in 2010. I already know that production is more technology updated and has projections. There is not a revolve either. Considering the fact that I am a Spanish minor, I hope to watch “Les Mis” in Spanish. I enjoyed seeing a play in Spanish when I studied abroad in Costa Rica, but I felt so lost because I didn’t understand what was going on. That is why wanting to see “Les Mis” in Spanish is a good idea because I know the show inside and out. I know the characters and storyline so well and what the different songs are about.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

