Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Yesterday, I saw Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I wanted to watch this movie because I was a fan of Harry Potter growing up. I knew that this movie was part of the Harry Potter world and was looking forward to meeting the new characters and the new creatures. I even was looking forward to finding Harry Potter references throughout the film. I was even familiar with one of the actors, who was Eddie Redmayne, who played the main character, Newt.

I first saw Eddie Redmayne as Marius in the 2012 movie of Les Mis. I enjoyed him as Marius and could not wait to see his portrayal of Newt. The plot of Fantastic Beasts is as follows: Newt, a wizard with a suitcase full of magical creatures, goes to America when darkness is in the air. The dark and powerful wizard, Grindelwald has created chaos in America and at the time, magical creatures are not allowed to be let loose in America. By accident, some of Newt’s creatures are let loose and it is Newt’s job and his allies to recapture them. There are a lot of tensions set between witches and wizards and muggles.

Newt is this British wizard who carries around a suitcase full of magical creatures. He truly cares about every single one of them. I think Newt is a wonderful character. He is very caring, kind, and gentle when it comes to other humans and his wonderful magical creature collection.

Another major character is Jacob, a muggle from America. In America, non-magical humans are not known as muggles, but instead known as no-mag. He sort of is the reason why some of Newt’s creatures were released in New York City. Both Newt and Jacob have a matching suitcase and Jacob accidentally brought Newt’s suitcase home with him. Due to that incident, some of the creatures became loose. He eventually had to team up with Newt to recapture all of the creatures.

Queenie and and Tina, two sister witches are so close to each other and become an important part of the story. They each become valuable to Newt and help him recapture creatures. Tina thought that Newt purposely let the creatures loose and was trying to turn him in, but Newt still always defended that. So Newt, Queenie, Jacob, and Tina become this sort of team.

Overall, I loved the movie and I thought the cast was amazing. I loved being able to pick up on Harry Potter references throughout the film. You saw the necklace with the deathly hallows symbol, the Lestrange family was mentioned, and even Hogwarts and Dumbledore were mentioned. If I did not grow up watching Harry Potter, those references would not have been noticeable. You do not need former knowledge of the Harry Potter series in order to understand this film. It can work as a stand-alone film. It was fun discovering the new characters along with creatures. This time the powerful Grindelwald is like the Voldemort of Harry Potter.

So, if you are a former Harry Potter fan, I would recommend this movie. It can get dark at times. But overall, it is a very magical film with a lot of humor, which was created through Newt, Jacob, Queenie, and Tina. It takes place seventy years before Harry Potter and it was interesting seeing the wizard world through America and I loved seeing how different it was.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

  1. I am going to see this movie on Tuesday and I’m soooo excited!!! It sounds amazing- I’m a huge Harry Potter fan and have read all of the books and seen all of the movies 🙂 did u know they are releasing the script for this movie as a book?? Also have u seen Harry Potter and the Cursed Child??

    Like

Leave a Reply

