Ingredients to a Good Musical

What makes a good musical? What makes you drawn to the material?

For me, the first thing to look at are the songs themselves. For me, if the songs are good, the musical is also good. Something has to draw you to the characters and plot and that usually starts with the songs. When you fall in love with the songs, than you usually slowly fall in love with the emotions themselves.

The next things to truly look at are the characters and storyline. This also connects to the nature of the songs. Do the songs reflect the characters and the storyline? Do the emotions of the story also fit with the songs? In a lot of ways, the songs, characters, and storyline all depend on each other.

The best characters tend to always be some of the complex characters. In addition, almost always, the best storylines tend to reflect both positive and negative emotions and do not usually have a simple plot. That is just in general, but sometimes every so often, you can fall in love with a plot or character that is very simple or you can fall in love with a plot that doesn’t even have the negative emotions.

For me, sometimes the dance or spectacle helps me fall in love with a musical. I tend to look for that when I see a new musical. Sometimes the dance helps strengthen the characters or storyline. It even can help with the setting as well.

But overall, the most important aspect to look for in a musical is an emotional connection. Do you have an emotional connection to the material? Was it worth feeling all of the characters emotions? Did you have joy feeling the negative emotions if they were present? Did you feel like you truly care about the characters?

Listed below are some of the best musical songs (only one per show):

  1. Tomorrow
  2. Seize the Day
  3. Some Enchanted Evening
  4. Corner of the Sky
  5. Edelweiss
  6. For Good
  7. On My Own
  8. Seventy Six Trombones
  9. Memory
  10. Seasons of Love
  11. Music of the Night

Now listed below are some of the best musical characters:

  1. Elphaba
  2. Eponine
  3. Crutchie
  4. Annie
  5. Pippin
  6. Maria (Sound of Music)
  7. Mimi
  8. Don Quixote
  9. Nellie
  10. Grizabella

Now I am listing some of the best musical plots

  1. Wicked
  2. Les Mis
  3. Newsies
  4. South Pacific
  5. Sound of Music
  6. Annie
  7. Rent
  8. Music Man
  9. Fiddler on the Roof

So, the songs are key to a wonderful musical. You can fall in love with the characters and storyline, but if the songs are bad, it can make everything else kind of boring. Bad songs lead to you not caring about the characters and the emotions. Good songs can help bring out the best in the characters and allows you to stay emotionally connected.

In your opinion, what do you think makes a good musical?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

8 thoughts on “Ingredients to a Good Musical”

      1. My mom got tickets very last minute. She got them the week before and there was only one day left with two seats together. So we were quite lucky to even get to go and end up that close.

        Pippin was not the only show I saw so close in the same summer. The same summer I saw Pippin, I saw Les Mis in London and we were nine rows back. Because it was my dream to see Les Mis in London, mom wanted to get me some of the best seats.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow! That’s really cool! I got to see the revival production of Les Miz on Broadway a few months back and it was one of the coolest things ever. I’d really like to see the original London version, though!

        Like

Leave a Reply

