List of Happy Musicals

This is a list of happy musicals. From experience, I am fully aware that most musicals are happy. This list includes shows I have seen either by movie or stage and shows that I haven’t experienced at all.

  1. Wicked
  2. Wizard of OZ
  3. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory
  4. Music Man
  5. Pippin
  6. Sound of Music
  7. Annie
  8. Seven Brides For Seven Brothers
  9. Singing in the Rain
  10. Hairspray
  11. Mamma Mia
  12. Cats
  13. South Pacific
  14. Oklahoma
  15. Annie Get Your Gun
  16. Newsies
  17. Lion King
  18. Beauty and the Beast
  19. Aladdin
  20. Little Mermaid
  21. My Fair Lady
  22. Mary Poppins
  23. Meet Me in St. Louis
  24. Easter Parade
  25. Fiddler on the Roof
  26. Grease
  27. White Christmas
  28. Godspell
  29. Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
  30. White Christmas
  31. Kiss Me Kate
  32. Bye Bye Birdie
  33. An American in Paris
  34. Anything Goes
  35. Funny Girl
  36. A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
  37. Guys and Dolls
  38. Kinky Boots
  39. Throughly Modern Millie
  40. Fantastiks
Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

12 thoughts on “List of Happy Musicals”

      1. I know they are making a movie of the musical. But it is very concerning. Wicked means a lot to me and hope that they don’t make it more like the book. I heard they are adding like four new songs

        Like

  1. Great to see Wicked at the top of this list – so many people discount it as cheesy and too fantastical, but the messages are so powerful and the escapism is often exactly what people are looking for. It’s definitely a top 5 musical for me!

    Like

    1. I still cannot believe people call Wicked too cheesy. It is powerful because it is a story of an unlikely friendship between two very different girls. Wicked has everything that a musical should have. It has spectacle, dance, lavish sets and costumes, positive and negative emotions in the scores, and an incredible emotional connection. It is the best of the musical comedies. The most important thing of a musical is to have a strong emotional connection

      Elphaba is like a role model to me. She is my favorite musical character. The two of us are talkative, smart, determined, “different”, and big-hearted and we both believe in equality and staying true to ourselves.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

