Tragedy and Comedy in Theatre

It is fascinating how comedy and tragedy create the framework for theatre. The interesting thing is that they are portrayed quite differently in operas, plays, and musicals. Yes, the genres use the exact same requirements, but still severely different.

In a play, tragedies and comedies only use words. That is all they rely on when it comes to the emotions. For me, it is difficult to embrace and endure the emotions. That is especially true in the tragedies. When I saw Trojan Women, a Greek tragedy, it was a bit odd because that show is almost 2500 years old. The chorus aspect was so unusual and odd. But just like the modern tragic plays, it still has some of the same requirements despite some differences. Tragedies are meant for the audience to experience pity and fear. Plays give me this kind of disconnect from the characters even if the acting is believable. As for the comedies, they are just funny and entertaining. That is it and the disconnect still exists for me.

Operas were built around tragedy. Adding song changes the whole experience. There is just something about song makes it easier to endure and embrace emotions. The singing style is the most complex. The lyrics are sung in a foreign language and as a result, it requires the use of subtitles. That is why it useful to look up the show ahead of time. Operas are famous for their extremely long death scenes.

Musicals are what I feel the most connected to. They give me the best experiences because I love musicals the most out of types of theatre. I can relate or connect to the characters very easily due to the songs. Musicals were built around comedy. Most of them are in fact happy. Some of the happy musicals do have tragic and dark elements along with negative emotions.The songs make the most sense in a musical because they are always translated. Musicals always originate in the language of English. This genre is also home to dance and spectacle, which helps tell the story and helps the setting become believable. Just like operas and plays, musicals are home to tragedies as well. The tragic musicals are newer, but they are essential to the world of musicals. By seeing the emotions through the perspective of both comedies and tragedies, it makes you truly understand them. You are able to truly understand how the negative and positive emotions come together to form one plot. It is the musicals that I have the most experience with and I spent my entire life with the comic and happy musicals.

The trick with musicals and operas is that they are very similar. The difference is that operas are built around tragedy while musicals are built around comedy. That explains why the death scenes take longer in an opera compared to a musical. The singing style is drastically different. The singing style is easier to understand in a musical. Musicals have easily memorable melodies and the songs are sung in the language of the country.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

