Nature of Negative Musical Emotions

The word, careful, can be applied to the negative musical emotions. I know that sounds crazy, but it is so true. Those emotions are so fragile and filled with a lot of vulnerability and strength, but they are trapped with a couple of limitations. I know all of this through experience.

The reason why you have to be careful with those negative emotions because they are going to hurt. It can be hard to deal with them and are difficult to truly understand . But the truth about the negative emotions is that they are worth feeling. However, there is a faint edge when it comes to the negative emotions. There are times when certain musicals don’t even have the negative emotions in any of the songs. There also are times where you can easily be aware of some kind of darkness, but the negative emotions can easily slip away and be forgotten. The faint edge of sad is like the mildest layer of that emotion.

So, in the shows where sad is truly present, don’t let it be forgotten and never ignore them. Let those negative emotions stay present. An amazing amount of the sad songs are in fact beautiful songs. They can be quite powerful filled with so much insight, honest truth, epic quality among many other things. Some of the beautiful sad songs include “I’m Not That Girl”, “On My Own”, “This Nearly Was Mine”, and “I Dreamed a Dream”. There are many other beautiful sad songs outside of those. I love the negative emotions in musicals a lot. Musicals make the negative emotions possible to handle and endure. In fact, I believe that the negative emotions are there to strengthen plot along with character. Those emotions add conflict to the story. They even help make the story more human. I am never surprised if I see a new musical and sad is one of the emotions in the songs. That is because I am aware that sad is a common musical emotion. In addition, I am also not surprised if it takes many years for the negative emotions to become a part of a musical.

I learned to truly embrace the negative emotions over the past four years. I have had to learn about musical emotions through sad musicals. I was able to see sad from a different perspective when Les Mis and Rent entered my life. Those two are tragic musicals, but they are wonderful musicals. Discovering the negative emotions through them actually allowed me to understand the point of the negative emotions in musicals. I was able to accept them more as emotions. Through tragic musicals, I learned how to fully accept negative emotions in all musicals. In my opinion, seeing the negative emotions through joy and light means that you truly care about the plot and characters. It means you are willing to be vulnerable and that you want to be moved by them. All musicals with sad in the score all have positive emotions as well. You need to truly understand how positive and negative emotions come together in order to create a plot. The songs have to reflect the story and have to best represent the characters.

Careful

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

