Trojan Women Review

Last night it was my second night selling tickets at Trojan Women, a Greek tragedy by Euripides. It is about the aftermath of the Trojan War. At this showing, I was given permission to watch it.

I got to say it was a well done production. The set looked like the ruins of Troy and represented Greek Tragedy well. The costumes reflected the time period. One of the most fascinating things about this production was the shadow interpreting. My school is well known for their ASL program. While people were talking on stage, there were interpreters on stage signing the lines. That was very fascinating to watch and I am glad the ASL program was honored in that way. I loved the incredible acting from the cast. One of the oddest things about Greek Tragedy is the chorus, which is very difficult to pull off, but they did a wonderful job.

One of the reasons why I am so glad I watched the show is because Ancient Greek shows is where theatre truly began. Greek tragedy is very different from what we know as tragedy today. In Greek tragedy, the main character is not an ordinary person. Instead, the main character is of nobility. There is only one plot, one setting, and one time. There is the odd chorus, which sometimes does not make any sense. I may be a musical person, but it is quite interesting being exposed to plays. Even though I am not as emotionally connected to a play, going to a play can be enjoyable.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Trojan Women Review”

Leave a Reply

