Metaphor of Being Green

Today during my stage makeup class, I was applying green eye shadow for a practice round of the next project. While doing that, the green reminded me of the musical character, Elphaba. She was born green and understands what it is like to be different.

To me, green is a metaphor for being different. This is shown through the character of Elphaba. She is treated as an outcast because she was born green. She is also different because she was born with magical powers, but she has no idea how to control them. She constantly is getting misunderstood by others including her family. Her father hates her and blames her for the reason why her sister is disabled and why her mother is dead, but it wasn’t even her fault. Elphaba has a close bond with her sister, but in the second act, her sister completely betrays her.

She believes that once she starts Shiz, she will stop being discriminated against, but she finds out that even the students dislike her. She reluctantly rooms with Galinda (AKA Glinda). Glinda and Elphaba start out as enemies who loathe each other and they learned to accept each other’s differences and become the best of friends. It was at the school dance where Galinda is able to finally befriend Elphaba. From the dance on, the two girls become the best of friends. Every once in a while they find conflict, but they always make up. The first conflict happens when Elphaba and Glinda both fall in love with Fiyero. This creates a fascinating love triangle, which adds this wonderful texture to the storyline.

images

Elphaba is way more then what society paints her out to be. She is so determined and smart. She cares about what is happening around her. She has this big heart and stands up for what she believes in. She wants to give equality to all despite how everyone treats her. The wizard uses her to his advantage and makes the public believe that she is wicked. She is an incredible wonderful women and she never lets society define who she really is. She constantly tries to save the lives of others.

So overall, I find green a metaphor for being different. I truly understand Elphaba because I personally relate to her. I am a big-hearted, smart, talkative, determined, and unique person. I believe in equality and staying true to myself. Let your green shine through and let others see you for who you really are. Don’t let society define you because all that is doing is painting a false image of who you really are. I never try to fit in and would rather be accepted. Elphaba is such an important part of my life and I love how she has so much courage and strength inside of her.  Elphaba has been part of my life for ten years in all and Wicked is a powerful story about friendship and acceptance. Wicked is the best musical comedy. It just keeps on getting better and better and the emotions constantly are maturing.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

