Strength in Musicals

What creates a strong musical?

I tend to prefer the strong musicals. For the most part, they are usually complex. They are the ones I tend to be the most emotionally connected to. They tend to have both positive and negative emotions in their scores. In my opinion, the scores are highly important in the world of musicals. The songs tend to reflect the storyline and characters really well. The strong musicals tend to have the strong scores. “Newsies” and “Wicked” for instance both have strong scores because their emotions are both positive and negative. The reason why I prefer musicals that have both joy and sad is due to the fact that those scores make me truly care about the characters and makes the experience even more memorable. Yes, the negative emotions do hurt, but describing sad through joy means that I accept the emotions and shows that I truly care about the characters and means that I am willing to feel those emotions.

Even the characters of strong musicals are quite memorable. The strong characters tend to live a life full of conflict and/or hardship. Sometimes it can be quite hard to know if a character is strong or not especially the first time around. Sometimes the strong characters end up living a tragic life.

Some of the strong musicals are based off of a true story like “Newsies”.  The strong plots also seem to be complex. It can be quite difficult to describe the complex musicals at times. There are some strong musicals out there that seem to have a simple plot. The complex plots tend to be filled with conflict and usually have some kind of darkness involved. The characters truly develop in the complex plots. They tend to change throughout the show and have to deal with many challenges.

What do you think makes a strong musical?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

