Letter to Elphaba

Dear Elphaba,

Thank you for becoming an important part of my life. I first discovered your story in 2006 on Broadway with my mom. Coming in, I had no idea how much influence you would have on my life. I just have to say that you are like a role model to me. In all, I have seen your story come to life four times. Each time, I become more and more vulnerable to your story. Your story even seems to come to life when I am listening to the songs. I relate so much to you and I totally understand your situation. I may not share everything in common with you, but we still have lots in common.

Just like you, I am smart, determined, talkative,  and different. Sometimes I have felt misunderstood. I know feeling misunderstood is not the best feeling, but you stay true to yourself. You take action and stand up for what you believe in. I totally understand what it means to be so different. I also believe in equality and staying true to myself. You have such courage when people have discriminated and misunderstood you for so long. I admire your amazing strength and your relationship to Fiyero and Glinda. Fiyero and Glinda truly understand you and you are lucky to have both of them in your life. It was quite surprising that you and Glinda used to extremely dislike each other when both of you first met. But I am so glad that the two of you eventually would become the best of friends.

I hope for many years to come you will remain an important part of my life. You are my all-time favorite musical character. You continue to inspire me each time your story comes to life. I just cannot believe that you have always been treated like an outcast even in your own family. But you remain strong and brave through all of this. I just want to say that you are not alone. Continue to inspire others and don’t let anyone place a label on you. I still cannot believe you have played such an important part of my life for ten years.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

2 thoughts on “Letter to Elphaba”

  1. This is so wonderful. I love Wicked, and I love Elphaba — I’ve only seen the musical on stage once but her story is so important to me. I really agree with what you said about her having the courage to stand up for what’s right even when people don’t like her! Defying Gravity is actually one of my set pieces for my music exam which is really cool, so I’m really excited to talk about that in class. (And some of my other classmates are Wicked fans too, yay!)

    Like

    1. Your comment is so inspiring. Elphaba is one of the biggest reasons why Wicked is spectacular. It is interesting how each time I see Wicked, I always discover something new about Elphaba, which can be either a personality trait or new emotions.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

