What does it mean to be a Servant?

“For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life for a ransom for many”

-Mark 10:45

What does it mean to be a servant? Servanthood is an important part of being a Christian. Servanthood starts with sacrifice. Servanthood means living the life that Jesus lived. It means helping people in times of need and reading out to others through ministry. In fact, you must become a servant way before you become leader. I have never felt like a leader because I always felt like a follower. In fact, I feel way more like a servant then a leader. That is due to my passion for helping the less fortunate and that passion will continue for the rest of my life.

Many of the biggest challenges that Ministry faces can all be solved through the use of servanthood. You can simply be a servant by helping the “least of these”, which consist of the homeless, orphans, strangers, prisoners, refugees, and the sick. They are the ones that need the most help.

But what holds us back? Some things are fear, obligations, laziness, perceptions, lack of time, lack of energy, no desire/motivation, pride, lack of comfort, and unawareness. What can be used to overcome these? Don’t forget that God has used many messed up people to do something amazing. Remember Abraham, Joseph, Saul, Rahab, David and many others who were considered to be the “least of these”, but they did incredible acts. Remember God wants to use darkness for good. There is always a source of light in the midst of darkness.

Yes all of these types of blockades will keep on coming in your life. Think back, what part of your life can you use to reach out to others? Sometimes I don’t know what holds me back at times, but I do know I am heading in the right direction. I know what was the pivotal moment in my life that made me start having a deep connection to those living in poverty and homelessness. It was at an experimental dinner where the vast majority of the participants represented those living in poverty and homelessness and it was that moment that made me realize that giving back to the less fortunate was my calling. But at the time, I did not know God was going to develop that into one of the most amazing ideas. I later learned that I was not supposed to volunteer on the side, but instead was actually meant to work in Nonprofit and head towards starting one.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

