OZian Styles of Wicked

Seeing the word stylish reminds me of some of my favorite costumes in musicals. In my opinion, some of the most colorful and elaborate and unique costumes are those from “Wicked”. That makes sense because “Wicked” takes place in the land of OZ. The costumes had to look like they come from a place that doesn’t exist and that would make you want visit OZ.

Glinda has some wonderful outfits. She wears mostly dresses because she is a girly girl. She has her famous blue bubble dress. That dress looks really incredible with the tiera, which perfectly makes the light feel of her dress. Out of all the Glinda outfits, my favorite one is the “Popular” dress. She wears this dress to a school dress, which Fiyero arranges. I really like this dress because it is bright pink and represents Glinda. This dress marks the beginning of the friendship between Glinda and Elphaba. They start to connect at the school dance. During “Popular”, the dress looks even better. There is also the yellow dress she wears during “One Short Day”, which is accessorized with a yellow purse. All of these dresses have beading on them, which you cannot see, but those beads help make the costumes so incredible.

images

Elphaba’s outfit collection is not nearly as colorful as the dresses that Glinda wears. My favorite Elphaba dress is the one that she wears during Act II. The outfit makes her look more mature compared to the outfits she wore during Act I. I don’t exactly know why I love this dress so much. As far as I know, it makes her look more mature and the outfit looks amazing with her green skin. It complaints it very well.

The other characters have amazing costumes as well. I especially like Fiyero’s outfit during “As Long as Your’e Mine”. It looks incredible with the lantern that Fiyero carries to the woods. Fiyero even has the wonderful outfit he arrives to Shiz in, which is red and black. You can really see his character develop throughout the different costumes he wears throughout the show.

images

All of the outfits in the Emerald City are some of the most fun and colorful costumes ever. True, there is a lot of green in the costumes, but they still are colorful.There are the incredible outfits that the students wear at Shiz. All of the different uniforms are quite different from each other, but still have the blue and white stripes look.

unknown

All of these costumes truly look OZian.

I hope I was was able to describe these outfits. Wicked fans, what are your favorite outfits in this musical?

Stylish

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

