Flying Leap of Faith

“Those who survived the exile and in the great province are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its gates have been burned with fire”. When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the Lord…I was cupbearer to the King.

-Nehemiah 1: Nehemiah’s Prayer

What does it mean to take a flying leap of faith? A lot of times in life, we let our fears get in the way and control our life and due to that, some of our dreams become broken and suffer because of it. Never get caught off guard by the fears, stressed, and worries of your life. Everyone is one this Earth for a reason and when we discover it, pursue it and allow it to happen.

Everyone feels like they are unqualified for their calling. That is true, but put your faith in God and allow him to equip you with the tools and skills you need to accomplish your calling. Just never think you are unqualified for your vision despite feeling that way. Sometimes I feel like I am unqualified to start a Nonprofit due to the risk involved and due to the fact that I don’t feel like a leader, but a follower instead. But I trust in God and will allow Him to give me the tools necessary to reach my dream job.

But what exactly is your calling? How do you know what that is? This can be seen by asking yourself “what problem can you see that needs to be solved?”. My calling is to give back to those living in poverty and homelessness. I was shocked to discover that that population took up the vast majority of those living in the world. People see those who are homeless as a problem and as a result, it makes the homeless feel useless and makes them feel like they don’t belong. I want to be able to give them equal opportunities in life and help find some kind of meaning. I understand the power of live theatre and I feel like they will really benefit from that. I hope that when they perform on that stage in either a play or a musical, I hope that they will able to get off the streets and find meaning for once in their life. My nonprofit will allow them to perform and will also maybe allow them to experience live theatre through an audience perspective.

The next question to think about is “what is it that your’e passionate about?” We all have passions. I am equally passionate about musicals and service. I may not show my love for volunteering much, but it is a passion and a calling. Musicals are just a passion of mine and nothing more. I may talk about them a lot, but my path was never leading towards musical theatre in the first place. It was leading me towards giving back to the less fortunate. I started to understand where my path was leading me when I first developed my passion for service back in high school. At the time, I wasn’t even passionate about musicals, but instead just a fan. It wasn’t until college that my appreciation for musicals turned into a passion all because of “Les Mis”, a musical I am still obsessed with.

Another question to think about is “what makes you sad, mad, and glad?” I never would have thought things that way. It is sad to think that so many people are living on the streets. People don’t seem to see the fact that they are humans too and deserve to have meaning in their life and a place to stay for the night. Volunteering and musicals make me happy and it is sad to think how society tends to label and treat the homeless and those living in poverty.

Never dismiss your vision. It will happen as long as you keep a faith in God. We need to step up and not let the devil control us. He will keep on putting fear and distress in our life, which will continue to make us more and more miserable. The devil puts false images in our mind, which are not true. Never let the devil win and allow God to enter your life. If you put your faith and commitment to God, then we will help us in our spiritual journeys. Having a flying leap of faith means take that step that will eventually lead you towards what you were called to do.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

3 thoughts on “Flying Leap of Faith”

      1. It is very possible, especially if one calling is interconnected with the other. It is also possible for your calling to change throughout your life. As you age and grow you change and therefore your calling MIGHT change.

        Like

Leave a Reply

