Following your Heart

Wherever you go, take your heart with it

-Unknown

This short quote just has a lot of meaning. There is so much honest truth in this quote. What does it mean? Why it is so important? Why should you follow your dreams and desires? Why should you stay true to yourself?

This questions came to mind when I saw this quote. It is true that we need to live in the moment and just be ourself. You are unique, blessed, and loved by others. What makes you stand out from others? It is important to understand what makes you so unique. It is important to not pretend to be someone your’e not. Everyone has different dreams in life and some take longer to achieve then others. The importance of dreams is that they allow you to thrive and help lead you in the right direction. Whenever you have a dream, do whatever it takes to make that dream a reality.

I am blessed that some of my dreams already came true. My dream of attending Gardner Webb came true last year when I finally transferred. Everyday that dream is no longer a dream, but reality. I love my school and I  know that Gardner Webb does too. Everyone says that I help bring light to Gardner Webb. I have a positive outlook on life and have a strong spirituality. I use my spirituality to thrive and that allows me to survive tests along with challenging assignments. I love Gardner Webb due to the incredible community and everyone feels so lucky that I picked Gardner Webb. I feel like the Lord wanted me to be at Gardner Webb for a reason. This school has challenged me in ways that I was not expecting and taught the importance of being open-minded and doing things outside of your comfort zone. Yes, sometimes it is scary doing things outside of your comfort zone, but sometimes doing things outside of your comfort zone can lead you closer to achieving one of your dreams. I always follow my heart everyday and take my love for life with it. It is important to continue to use your special gifts, which allows you to be the best you can be.

Even my dream of seeing Les Mis in the West End came true. When I found out I was seeing in the West End in June of last year, I was in tears that I finally was able to see it in London. In fact, when we were in London, when I first saw the theatre, I could not believe that I was there. This dream did not feel real at first, but felt real once the show started. All it took was hearing the first couple of notes to know that this dream was reality and that the West End was more then I ever imagined. The cast I saw grabbed me from the beginning to the end. The entire cast was brilliant from the ensemble to the leads. I especially loved the use of the revolve and really loved how the barricades were built. I sometimes wonder why I am obsessed with this musical. I know why I love it so much and I know why it changed musicals forever. It was has one of the most brilliant and memorable scores with one of the most inspirational storylines and some of the most complex and wonderful characters. This show is a wonderful interpretation of the human condition.

If those two dreams came true, I am convinced that other dreams of mine will come true. Some of my dreams will take a really long time to achieve. One of my dreams is to be a writer, but it is not my dream job. I have wonderful story ideas such as Fairy Frogs and a Scavenger Hunt in New York City.

But my ultimate dream job is opening up a Nonprofit, which will benefit those living in poverty and homelessness. I was called to help that particular community and I figured out a way to combine my love for musicals and my love for giving back to those less fortunate then me. I began to wonder if theatre has benefited me a lot,  how much more benefit could theatre give to those living in poverty and homelessness. I began to think about creating a theatre where those living in that community can perform in musicals and plays. My ultimate dream job will be the hardest dream to achieve, but if I take my heart with that dream, then I am fully convinced that it will happen. I have had such a fortunate life and glad that I am willing to give back to the less fortunate.

Following your heart is the best way to stay true to yourself. Don’t let society or anyone else define who you are. Don’t do what society expects from you. Do what you love and do what the Lord expects from you. Just follows your passion and dreams. I have always believed in staying true to myself other then pretending to be someone I am not. Staying true to yourself will allow to thrive during dark and broken times in your life. In those times, just remember that there is hope and that you will climb out of  it and always remember that you will always be loved. It is so easy to be myself and I will never change a thing about myself. I will still grow and change, but I will stay true to what I believe in and what I love. Some of my interests are puzzling to others, but once again I will always love what I love. I will always love musicals and contemporary Christian music the most and I will always enjoy hiking and will always enjoy life. Trust in the Lord with all your heart and He will guide you for the rest of your life.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

1 thought on “Following your Heart”

  1. I feel it is of the most importance that we be our true selves. We all have unique talents, gifts, etc. When we are trying to fit and be like everyone else, we are not only doing a disservice to ourselves, but the world as a whole. When you suppress yourself, you are denying the world of your talents and gifts. – Michelle and John

    Like

Leave a Reply

