Salt and Light of the World

You are the light of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven

Matthew 5:13-16

What exactly does it mean to be salt of the earth? Salt has the ability to add flavor. That means show excellence in what you do. Let others see it and if that happens, you become the salt of the earth in a more spiritual way. Another property of salt is that it draws flavor out. This is very similar to adding flavor. But drawing out flavor means doing the best you can when you show excellence in the things that you love. Salt also has the property to stick together. Humans stick together because together we are one. We are all connected so in order to fix the broken society, just do one good deed and that will slowly repair the damage of society. Also try to preserve God’s word and faith. That means stick to his word along with your faith. I think even listening to God is staying true to his word. That means understanding your calling on this Earth. You can still have an intimate relationship with God and hardly read the bible. But if you read the bible, don’t take everything literally. Just have faith that God will guide you in the right direction and pray for the things that you want and it will happen. He will never give up on you and will help you. Also salt has the property to make you thirsty, which means you are thirsty for righteousness. God has the power to heal and will heal you from your brokenness.

But does it mean to be the light of the world? Don’t forget you are unique and that no one is exactly the same. It means that you should share your testimony of what God has done for you. Either you can be dead in christ or alive in Christ. Being alive in Christ means that you accept Him as your savior and that you will live life according to His plan. He helps you to see what you are putting into your life. Be careful because sometimes what you can put in your life can burn your light out. Make sure that what you are putting into your life keeps your light shining. Never let society define who you are because you are made in God’s image and not in the image of society. You are a child of God and you have to live according to His plan. This might sound crazy, but sometimes you have to be broken to allow our light to shine. That doesn’t even make sense at all. In fact, sometimes during those broken times of life, you become stronger then ever before. Stay strong during those times and give glory to God. Brokenness represents the fact that humans are not perfect and that we tend to make mistakes.

Overall, just know who you are in Christ. God helps build character. He builds you spiritually and emotionally. In fact, having spiritual strength is one of the greatest gifts God can give you. Spiritual strength allow to thrive in dark and broken times in your life. You can use that spiritual strength to come out on the other side. I say that because if you trust in the Lord, He will heal you from the brokenness. Lets face it-everyone becomes broken at some point in their and you will become healed through the glory of the Lord through your faith.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Salt and Light of the World”

  1. You explained this verse better than any pastor or priest I have ever heard preach on it! I no longer read the bible but do what resonates with me. This is how I know that I am living the way I am supposed to. Being made in the image of God is very true! We emanate from God, therefore he is in all of us. We share experience and abilities. Being in Christ is much more for difficult for me. I really did not understand when I was a Christian and I understand it even less now. I believe that he is one of the Ascended Masters and we strive for the Christ consciousness within us. There is nothing strange about needing to be broken to get to this point! It was not until my oldest son, John, crossed over that I as totally broken (as any mother would be at the loss of her child) and my life was reborn into what I was meant to be all along. We should never let society dictate who we are. Must look within to know our authentic selves and live true ourselves. We need to be aware of ourselves before we can achieve any of this.We need to have an open mind and heart to be truly loving in the manner that our Creator wants us to be.

    Like

    1. That comment really made my day. Just yesterday, at my school’s student-led worship service, we were preached on this particular verse and even took notes on it. I look to that service for inspiration for my blog. When I actually blog about the scripture that was preached about, I make sure to make it my own and put a different perspective on it. What is nice about the student-led worship service is that the sermons are more geared towards college students, which resonates with me better then an ordinary sermon. I believe you can still have an intimate relationship with God without reading the bible because you need to reach out to God the way that works for you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am glad I made your day! I often thin that lay people have a much better perspective of the bible than clergyman do!

        Like

      2. Never would have thought I would blog about scripture in a partially spiritual blog. It just happened. Just last semester I was taking New Testament and found pieces of scripture to blog about and some I related back to the musical side of this blog. The same happens for scriptures preached at the student-led worship service. Glad I am including my interpretations of the scriptures in this blog.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

