What does God want me to do?

“Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with question: Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

Jesus replied: “Love the Lord your God with all your soul and heart and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets hand on these two commandments”

-Matthew 22:33-40

Is it possible to know everything about the bible and not truly love God?

That can happen. The Pharisees know everything about the bible, but yet they tend not to love God. All God really wants is for us to love him. We are God’s children. God wants us to become the church. The Holy Spirit is God and He lives inside us through our soul. If we love God, then our life would be more fulfilling. Love is greater then fear and is the key to fixing this broken society. Yes, it may be hard to love God at times, but if we trust in him, then He will guide us on a strong spiritual journey.

“Teach me your way, Lord that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name”

-Psalm 86:11

It makes no sense that we are called to passionately love God, but yet we must fear His name.What does fear have to do with love? We all know that love is greater then fear. It is the most complex and best human emotion. What does it really mean to fear God’s name?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

11 thoughts on “What does God want me to do?”

  1. I have always had trouble with the concept of fearing God and God’s love. Also with God’s judgment and God’s love. The other problem I have is when people say God hates this group of people or that and then turn around and say God is unconditional love. All of these are contradictory and, therefore, I do not understand them. I know God loves unconditionally. That is all I need to know. Nothing else matters.

    Like

    1. I never grasped fearing God either. God’s love is stronger then fear alone. That concept of fearing God sounds a bit difficult. Why should we fear God if me us must passionately love God? God loves all and that is why everyone must accept each other despite the many difference.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. At the Gathering, a student-led worship service, we were asked if we passionately love God? I have never thought of that before and I know I love him because he is my savior. I tend to post blog posts about the GAthering’s sermons the next day, which helps support the spiritual posts. This post was based off of one of the sermons at that worship service

        Liked by 1 person

      2. What exactly is the definition of “passionately loving God”? Also, what is he saving you from?

        Like

      3. Good question. Passionately loving means you love him 100%. Well, Christ saved us from our sins, so I accept him as my savior. Don’t need to be saved at this very moment, but trusting in him is allowing me to handle the complexity of college

        Like

      4. Yes, I used to believe like that but still had trouble understanding the “passionately” thing. I do not believe in the need to be saved as I believe we emanate from God and God is within us. God is the Universe and Source of all things. He experiences through us whether it be something we as humans deem “good” or “bad”. There is no need to be saved in my beliefs. There is no hell. If God is omnipresent then how can there be a hell? The church I used to go to said we had to love God more than our own children. I could never grasp the concept and it caused much guilt as my children are THE most important thing to me. My church also taught homosexuality was a sin and you would go to hell for being gay. My gay son took his life on Mother’s Day 2014. My church also taught that psychic mediums would go to hell. I am a medium. I speak with my son everyday and he has never been happier. He teaches me the way things truly are and what things were invented by man and not the Universe. So, this is why I have trouble understanding all these concepts. Not only do they not describe the God I know, but they caused me much pain and guilt, which also is not the God I know. Sorry for being long winded! I wanted to explain why I asked you those questions and I why I have trouble understanding the concepts.

        Like

      5. Yes God lives in us through the Holy Spirit. Understanding God is difficult especially if you are still a college student. Cannot wait to discover more of the path God is leading me towards. Sort of wondering if this blog is the key towards opening my Nonprofit: only a thought

        Liked by 1 person

      6. It probably is true that the blog is the beginning of your purpose. My son (the one who is in the Spirit Realm) and I were just talking about the concept of the Holy Spirit. We have basically the same idea of it only use different terminology. What you refer to as the Holy Spirit, I call the Higher Self. I see God as the top Spiritual being, Creator of All/Source/Universe/God. Below that is the Higher Self and the next level down is the lower self. The Higher Self guides the physical self through life, provided the physical self is listening!

        Like

      7. Some people think my purpose is impossible. But I have faith that it will happen. Odd how God is calling me to open a Nonprofit, but yet don’t see myself as a leader, even though others see myself as one.

        Like

Leave a Reply

