God’s Purpose

“But I have raised you up for this very purpose, that I might show you my power and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth”

-Exodus 9: 16

Why are we in this Earth? What are we called to do?

Those questions can be hard to figure out, but God works in mysterious ways.

I never thought that using your purpose could actually help you see God’s power. God’s power works every single day. If we trust in him, life is so worth it and easier to survive. I love my spiritual journey with Christ. I love being this spiritually strong person and I will nurture that and just allow it to grow.

I know that my purpose is to make a difference in those living in poverty and homelessness. I realized that was my purpose in high school. I did this incredible exercise at an Outreach weekend event. It was at dinner and it showed the different classes and how much of it is represented in the world. Our name tags had symbols or nothing at all, which represented three different classes. Only four people had stars on their name tags, which represented the wealthy and they were served and got to appreciate the best meal. At the middle class table, they had triangles on their name tags and there were only ten people and they served by family style. Unfortunately I was stuck in the poverty section and we had to sit on the floor and only had rice, beans, and water and used paper bowls, cups, and napkins. This exercise helped me realized that the vast majority of the world lives in poverty and it was at that moment that I found my calling. At first, I thought I only had to volunteer on the side, but in college I was to find out God did not want me to do that with my life.

He showed me where I was meant to be and how I was supposed to make a difference in the lives of those less fortunate then me. I discovered in my 2nd semester of Gardner Webb that I wanted to work in Nonprofit and that was when I realized that God wants me to work with them instead of volunteering on the side. I was surprised once again last semester when God had told me that I somehow had to eventually open up my own Nonprofit. I never thought He was leading me in that direction and He somehow did. In that semester, I was already a musical fanatic and absolutely loved them and was aware of how much benefit theatre has been doing in my life. I begin to think how much more benefit theatre would give to those living in poverty and homelessness. That is when I thought about starting my own Nonprofit that would support that. I am thinking that being involved in theatre will help them get off the street and will give them meaning for once in their lives. The Nonprofit will focus on them performing in musicals and plays. It is crazy that God wants me to start a Nonprofit someday. He somehow wanted me to incorporate both of my main passions into one idea.

I feel like I am more passionate about musicals then volunteering, but God has called me to give back, which will help fix this broken society. God has called me to do this, but I still don’t see myself as a leader, but that is what I need to see myself as if I want to start a Nonprofit. I have no idea how to move forward with an idea and turn it into something. I have two ideas on how to get this idea started. One is to brings actors to shelters and have them perform scenes from musicals and plays there. The second idea would be having enough fundraisers and take them to the theatre and we would discuss the show afterwards. This idea almost seems impossible, but I will never give up on this dream job. If I want to make a difference and follow my purpose, then I have faith that it will eventually work out. I never thought that these two passions could ever come together because they are so unrelated to each other. This idea sounds crazy and risky, but I would rather follow my heart in a job compared to a job that makes a lot of money. Getting my Nonprofit is going to taking many steps and yes there will be times when I will fall, but God will pick me back up and allow me to continue. God is so powerful and mighty that He truly understands your passions and allows you to fulfill your purpose on this earth.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “God’s Purpose”

    1. Thank You! There are people who seem to think my dream job is impossible. But I will not that stop me from heading towards it. So glad you enjoyed it and glad I could reach my spiritual posts towards those who may not be religious or spiritual like you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

