Power of Songs in Musicals

What does melody remind me of? It reminds me of the world of musicals. The world of musicals are quite unique. What is it that makes musicals so appealing and enjoyable?

I think what makes musical so unique are the songs. The songs are always what makes me fall in love with a musical. If I love the songs, I always love the musical. As you fall in love with the songs, you are  falling in love with the emotions as well. The songs are so wide-ranging from topics and emotions to varying degrees. They consist of wonderful ensemble numbers, beautiful duets, and incredible solos. The songs are the heart of musicals. There is just something about song that makes you feel for the characters and that makes you care.

The strongest emotions in musicals are joy, love, and excitement. They drive the action of the plot. Think about it: the emotions you feel belong to characters and if that is the case, then what are your own? That basically is saying you also have a feeling about the songs, characters, and plots. Whenever I connect to a musical, I care about the characters and want to feel their emotions. The strongest musicals tend to have both joy and sad in their scores. I know I said joy, love, and excitement are the strongest emotions, but that does not mean sad and heartbreak are less important. If you think about it, love directly links to heartbreak, sad, anger, and loneliness. There is a wonderful beauty in sad and heartbreak, which is part of why those two emotions have joy in them. There are actually heartbreaking songs where the character is feeling some kind of happiness. There also are happy songs that have sad in them.

Melody

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

