How Two Passions Come Together

What does it mean to be passionate?

That is an interesting question. I know I have two different passions, which don’t seem to be directly related. My two passions are volunteering and musicals. I feel like I am the most passionate about musicals. I love all sorts of musicals, which gives them an extradorinaiy capability. It doesn’t matter if the musical is tragic or comic. It doesn’t matter  how much light or dark a musical has. It doesn’t matter if it has dance and spectacle or none at all. It doesn’t matter what the emotional quality is like either, but that is the most complicated part of musicals.

As for the other passion, it is much more a calling. In high school, the moment I heard that the vast majority of the people in the world was living in poverty, I realized that this is my calling. I always had this deep connection to this community. At first, I thought I only would volunteer on the side. I don’t treat this like a passion, but I am drawn to it. This is one of the biggest reasons why I picked Gardner Webb because they are big on community service.

So how do you decide which one is more worth having a job in? To me it is more important helping those in need then getting involved in a musical. I would rather do a job that supports my calling. But I feel as if the two were meant to eventually find each other and become something. I realized that last year when I realized that musicals might eventually benefit those living in poverty and homelessness. I know how much benefit theatre has given me and I began thinking of how much more benefit it would give those living in that community. That is when I realized I want to start a nonprofit that gives the improvised the opportunity to perform in musicals and plays.

These two passions are a strong piece of who I am. I keep on being asked how in the world this nonprofit be successful. As of right now, it is only an idea, but that is the direction I want to be headed towards. I know nothing about working in nonprofit and I only understand theatre from the point of view of an audience member. I want to work in nonprofit before I take this idea a step further. It is not like I am going to start it alone.  Yes, working in nonprofit is risky, but it is my calling to help those less fortunate then I.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

