The World Will Know

It has now been officially two weeks since I first saw the Disney musical, Newsies. This musical has proven to be one of the meaningful musicals of my life. One of the biggest reasons why I love Newsies so much is because it is based off of a true story. It is still hard to believe that the Newsboy strike of 1899 actually happened. I think it is wonderful how a group of underdogs stand up to Pulitzer and Hearst.

As for any musical, it is always the songs that make me decide whether or not I love a musical. Then as you fall in love with the songs, you find yourself falling in love with the story. In my opinion, if you fall in love with the songs, you also are falling in love with the emotions. These songs are wonderful and very addicting. I am starting to find some real truth and insight into some of these songs. I tend to prefer musical scores that have both joy and sad and Newsies is one of them. My favorite songs are the songs sung by the Newsies, but also love Jack’s solo, Santa Fe, and his love duet with Katherine. Since Jack is one of the Newsies, it counts as one of the Newsie songs.

Even the dancing adds to my love for the musical. All of the flips, sliding under each other, jumping over each other, and dancing on newspapers are just mind-blowing. The dance helps strengthen the plot and the songs. I have always associated musicals with dance and am so glad the dance shows are continuing to increase.

I know why I have an emotional connection to the material. I can relate to the character of Crutchie. Crutchie has a special relationship with Jack Kelly. Ctuchie has a bum leg and has to walk around with a crutch. Despite his disability, he still shines through on every scene he is. Cructhie is not the only reason why I have an emotional connection to the material. I even have an emotional connection to the other newsboys because they are truly the heart of the musical. Jack Kelly is the leader of the strike and treats his friends like family. He is especially compassionate towards Crutchie. Jack wishes to have a better life in Santa Fe because he is tried of the hardships he has to face by selling newspapers and living on the streets.

Because I love Newsies so much, I want to own the soundtrack eventually.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

1 thought on “The World Will Know”

Leave a Reply

