What was I Called to Do?

God’s plan can be a puzzling thing. Sometimes I wonder what parts about my life were part of God’s plan and which were part of my own creation. That can be difficult to know what God has in store for you and what experiences were meant to become a part of your life. I realized what I was called to do in high school, but I didn’t know how to take part in my calling. My calling was to give back to those living in poverty and homelessness. I have always known I had a deep connection to them and I still can’t figure that out.

It wasn’t until last semester at college, I figured out what I can do to help. I realized that I eventually want to start a nonprofit, which sounds very risky. My nonprofit idea is so far away, but I know that any dream job can take a long time to get to. I want to somehow incorporate my strong love for musicals with my strong love for volunteering. I thought of a wonderful way to use both in one job. I know how much benefit theatre has done for me, but then I began to wonder how much more benefit theatre would do for those living in poverty and homelessness. That is when an idea clicked. I thought of developing a theatre for the homeless and those living in poverty, which will them the chance to perform plays and musicals.

I have no idea how to get a nonprofit started. I don’t have much knowledge about working in nonprofit either. I am not going to start this idea alone¬†because a musical or a play takes a lot of work and uses a lot of employees. One of my teachers suggested that I start out by bringing actors to a shelter and have the actors perform scenes from plays and musicals. One of my ideas was to have enough fundraisers and actually take that community to the shows. Then afterwards, we will discuss their experiences, which will help them learn about theatre. This nonprofit is a long way away, but I know that it just takes one small step at a time. Landing my first job gave me some work experience and another step will be graduating from college. I feel like working in nonprofit is the right way to go. I have had such a fortunate life and I want to help those less fortunate then I. Yes, employees generally don’t make a lot of money in nonprofit, but I care more about doing something I love then how much money I make.

Designed for You

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

