Facing our Fears

Courage cannot erase our fear. Courage is when we face our fear

-“Seize the Day”- Newsies

I was listening to “Seize the Day” yesterday from the musical, Newsies. Newsies is a musical that I learned to love two weeks ago when I saw the musical with my family. Newsies is a musical about the paper boy strike of 1899. In this story, it is about Jack Kelly and his group of Newsies who stand up to Pulitzer and Hearst when Pulitzer raises the price of the Newsies’ papers. To stand up, the boys go on strike. This musical is full of mind-blowing choreography, memorable characters, incredible songs, and an incredible set.

“Seize the Day” is the title song from the show. The quote above comes from that song. There is lot of truth in those lyrics and can easily relate to life. Facing our fears can be quite scary, but the Newsies’ stood up for what they believed in and were trying to protect their rights. It took great courage for these boys to stand up to two of the most powerful publishers of the time. Most of the Newsies are orphans and poor and have to live from the salary they gained from selling the newspapers.

Courage is very important in life. When we face our fears, it takes great courage. Everyone is braver then they think they are. Courage allows us to stay true to ourself and not let others influence who we are. When we face our fears, we are able to show a different side of us. Courage is one of our biggest strengths and that is one of the biggest keys to our development. I have a growing love for Newsies and is already becoming meaningful and am starting to understand why I have a strong emotional connection to it. As of right now, the songs are very addicting especially the ones that the Newsies sing.

What are your thoughts about courage?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Facing our Fears”

      1. I’ve taken many life lessons from that show that have become so important to me. I think you’re starting to see why I have such a great connection to the show!

        Like

      2. All of the best musicals have given me an emotional connection with the material. It is the meaningful ones where the joy they give me is quite special.

        Musicals are known for emotional connections. That is what really matters in the end. The songs are so important and if I love them, I always love the musical. But how much I love a musical depends on the plot and characters. The plot, characters, and songs are depend on each other

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

