Angel of Music

I am going to dedicate this post to Phantom of the Opera.

I am a Phantom of the Opera fan. I first listened to the some of the songs in 2013. I automatically fell in love with them. I knew that I had to eventually see the stage show. I finally got to fulfill that in 2014. I went with my mom and we had orchestra seats. I remember when I first saw the famous chandelier, I could not take my eyes off of it. I watched most of the overture by looking at it. I did not even move at all until that chandelier fell and that was the best part of the show.

This sounds crazy, but I don’t see Phantom as the main character. I really see Christine as the main character, which is why I don’t see Phantom of the Opera as a heartbreaking musical. In my opinion, it is trapped in between happy and sad musicals. The story is basically a love triangle. It seems to focus on the relationship between Christine and Raoul a lot more then Phantom and Christine. I feel bad for the Phantom due to the unrequited love and how people have been treating him.

When I first saw the musical, it ended up being hauntingly beautiful and spellbinding. You get caught under the Phantom’s spell and the show left me choked up by the beautiful music. Mom told me I was spellbound from start to finish. My favorite song from Phantom is “Music of the Night”. Maybe some day I will be able to see the Broadway production.

Ghost

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

14 thoughts on “Angel of Music”

    1. We seem to love so many of the same musicals. Fun fact: at one point Phantom, Les Mis, and Wicked were all #1 favorites, but Phantom left that when I saw Les Mis in London last year

      I still am listening to Newsies and those songs are so addictive.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I never thought a musical would be just as good as Wicked. Wicked has my vision of what a musical should be: dance, spectacle, color, fun, colorful sets, lavish sets, and emotional connection and must be a comedy.

        Then Les Mis comes around and ties with it, which is the opposite genre of what most musicals are. Les Mis does not carry my vision at all. But what makes up for the emptiness of dance, spectacle, and everything else is the strength of the emotions, the depth of the story and other contributing factors.

        Newsies is slowing growing on me. I know this love will continue as I learn more and more about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I love the extravagance of Wicked as well! And every moment of the story is so full and powerful that I can’t help but love it. And trust me, Newsies will always be growing on you. Day by day I am still catching new little parts of the music that I didn’t notice before but now see as pure genius.

        Like

      3. I understand what you are saying about Newsies. Newsies is still so fresh in my life, and I know from experience that it takes time to fully understand the plot along with the emotions in the show.

        To be honest, the biggest strength of a musical is the emotional strength of the songs. That is why I prefer the scores that have emotions that are positive and negative. Newsies shows both sides and is one of the biggest reasons why I am so drawn to it

        Liked by 1 person

      4. That’s why I listen to the soundtrack so much! Every single song is packed with plot advancing or great ideas and lyrics. It amazes me how Menken and Feldman worked so well together to create all of this beautiful music.

        Like

      5. I appear to be too passionate about them. I don’t have many friends who love them. But nothing will stop me from loving them even if they grow tired of me talking about them. I have one friend who wants me to change the subject quickly so we can move on to another especially if it is Les Mis. He is so bored with that, but that it is the challenge of having an obsession

        Liked by 1 person

      6. There’s no such thing as too much passion! And I can totally relate to people wanting to change the subject or just plain zoning out and not giving it a chance. It’s frustrating, but sadly some people just have interests in other things. And that’s okay. But when they say all musicals are just stupid, I get very upset, I’m getting off track, but just thought I’d say that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

