Highlights of this Summer

I have had a wonderful summer. Below is a list of highlights.

  1. Outing to Asheville
  2. Les Mis Party
  3. Vacation to Florida
  4. Crowders
  5. Newsies
  6. Reading Don Quixote

I am so glad I attended a Les Mis party. As many know, I am a huge Les Mis fan and also obsessed with it. It was a night of Karaoke and the house was decorated with things relating to the musical. Some things in the house were labeled with either lyrics from the music or quotes from the book. I really loved the Karaoke because it was fun singing the songs that I love and show my passion to others.

Hiking to Crowders was quite special. I have always been a mountain and nature person. There is something spiritual about hiking. Even though hiking can be difficult, it still helps develop your spirituality.Also, hiking is so worth it in the end because the view is a wonderful sight. You can look out and really see how amazing God’s creation is. No matter what, you are alway surrounded by nature.

The same weekend I went to Crowders, I also got to see the Disney musical, Newsies. Newsies is about the real-life paper boy strike of 1899. These boys are underdogs who stand up for what they believe in and treat each other like family. Most of them are underdogs and have difficult lives. The main character is Jack Kelly, who leads the strike and falls in love with Katherine. He has a special relationship with Crutchie and Crutchie has a bad leg and due to that has to walk with a crutch. Despite the disability, that doesn’t stop him from enjoying life and in a lot of ways, he is the heart of the Newsies. This show had a lot of mind-blowing choreography. They were doing flips, jumping over each other, sliding under each other, and high jumps. I even loved the storyline especially because it is based off of a true story. I even loved the songs and I loved them so much that I want to own the soundtrack. My favorite song was “Seize the Day”, the title song. This show was happy and I am hoping that most musicals remain that way. In my interpretation of musicals now, most musicals are happy.

Another highlight of this summer was reading the classic, Don Quixote. I decided to try to finish the book by the end of the summer. I finished it in July and it was so worth it. I enjoyed the book especially because I love the characters of Sancho Panza and Don Quixote and their relationship. Yes, reading it was quite a challenge because the plot was so complex and the language was difficult. It also was around nine hundred pages and what gave me the courage to finish the book was that I set a goal for myself of when I wanted to finish it.

The Poetry of List-Making

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

