Strength of Being Different

Being different isn’t a bad thing. It just means you are brave enough to be yourself

-anonymous

I never thought that being yourself shows bravery. For me, being myself just seems to come naturally. I do not think it is hard to show your true colors. I know that I am unique and there is nothing wrong with that. I am aware that some of the interests are different then my peers. I do not listen to the same type of music that people my age usually listen. People my age seem to listen to all these famous artists like Taylor Swift and various rock bands. But my taste in music has nothing to do with the famous artists that people usually think about.

Instead, my favorite kinds of music are musicals and contemporary Christian music. Those two types of music taught me about the power of music and that is one of the biggest reasons why I am drawn to both genres so much. Musicals taught me about the emotional nature especially because musicals tell a story. I discovered positive and negative emotions in the happy musicals and now I have fallen in love with not one, but two sad musicals. Yes, most musicals are happy, but I have the ability to call all musicals joyful. When it comes to Christian music, I learned about the healing power and the ability to bring back memories. I even learned about the emotional quality as well because Christian music is a wonderful way to connect to God especially when I am singing.

I also love volunteering and it is one of my two passions. I feel like I am called to work in Nonprofit and maybe start my own. I have never seen volunteering as a sacrifice because I am always getting something in return. Since high school, I have had a deep connection to those living in poverty and homelessness. I feel like that is God’s way of telling me that I am meant to help those less fortunate then me. I have had such a fortunate life and I want to make a difference.

I also love to read as well and I drawn to fantasy, comedy,mystery, and the classics. I have always been drawn to mystery, comedy, and fantasy and I loved all three since I was a kid. As for the classics, I recently started having an interest with them. I grew up on one of the classics, which was Dickens “Christmas Carol”. I think what really got me invested in the classic was Victor Hugo’s “Les Misérables”, which I first fall in love with through the musical. I have an obsession with Les Mis, which has been going on for at least three years. I actually read the entire brick last summer and finished it before summer ended. Then Christmas Break came along, and I read Dicken’s “Tale of Two Cities” and this summer read Miguel De Cervantes’ “Don Quixote”. I enjoyed all three of these classics and want to read more in the future.

Being yourself is one of the greatest gifts ever. Don’t try to pretend someone your’e not. I love who I am and I will always stay true to myself no matter what. I really love my personality along with my interests. Some of my biggest interests now used to be so tiny, but so glad they became what they are. My knowledge of musicals has become bigger especially because I have noticed big changes. I love being this optimistic, funny, and loving person. I love this incredible strength, which I easily develop through nature and Christian music and volunteering.  We as humans are all different, but the same. Yes, it is true that we want to feel accepted, but I don’t try to fit in. Fitting in sounds like humans are meant to be exactly the same. If everyone was exactly the same, then the world would be boring.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

