Portrait of Elphaba

There are no words to describe how much I love this character from the musical, “Wicked”. In a lot of ways, I am very similar to her and in a lot of ways I am not. She is my #1 favorite musical character due to how much I personally relate to her. It is very rare to come across a character in musicals that you can relate to so much.

Possible Spoilers:

It is very hard to understand who Elphaba is. She has so many wonderful layers who has this tough life. She has been treated like a outcast for most of her life. Her father hates her because she is green and blames her for why her sister, Nessa, is disabled and why her mother is dead. She goes to school hoping people would no longer judge her, but she realizes that even at school, she is discriminated against, which includes her roommate. Well Galinda (AKA Glinda) and Elphaba start out as reluctant roommates and the two hate each other. The two eventually bond with each other and become the best of friends. They have arguments from time to time, but towards the end of the show, they realize that they have changed each others lives for good. Glinda was Elphaba’s only friend and truly understand her for who who she is and Glinda has had several friends, but only one mattered.

Yes, the two have lots of conflict towards each other, but they never lose their friendship. They do find themselves both in love with Fiyero and that creates an interesting love triangle. It is fascinating how the love triangle changes from act 1 to act 2. It changes who gets the unrequited love. It is mainly placed on Elphaba, but she gets over that very quickly after accepting the fact that her best friend loves him. Well, in act 2, Fiyero does realize that he never loved Glinda after hearing all the rude comments people are making about Elphaba and leaves Glinda. This is the moment where Fiyero realizes that he always loved Elphaba and when Glinda notices this, she feels betrayed by both Fiyero and her best friend.

Elphaba was never “wicked” in the first place, but was only labeled that way. She performed good deeds like allowing Nessa to walk by putting a spell on her shoes, saving Boq’s life by turning him into tin after Nessa accidentally cast on a spell on him that made his heart shrink, and giving equal rights to the animals. Yes, Elphaba has heartbreak, anger, fear, frustration, and loneliness in her life, but she manages to get through all of that through her wonderful inner strength.

Overall, Elphaba is a big-hearted, talkative, smart, determined, different, misunderstood girl who believes in equality and staying true to herself. Despite all of the discrimination she faced, she is still this strong young woman. Two people truly saw her for who she was and they were Fiyero and Glinda. I still have this strong bond with her because a lot of what makes her who she is is part of who I am as a person. Elphaba is like a role model to me due to how much I relate. She has this inner strength, which is part of what makes her so unique. I know I don’t relate to everything about this character, but there is not another musical theatre character that I can relate to this much. Elphaba is one of the biggest reasons why Wicked is still a spectacular musical and why it means so much to me and why it is still a #1 favorite musical.

Portraits

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

2 thoughts on “Portrait of Elphaba”

Leave a Reply

