Time to Slow Down

Do you ever feel like you don’t have much time in the day to relax? Do you feel like a day is going by way too quickly?

In fact, finding time to slow down actually makes life seem a bit easier. They give you some kind of escapism. There are days you can just relax. It can be reading a book, coloring, listening to music, or being out in nature. When you find time to relax, the stress of life slowly goes away. It allow you to forget the troubles of the world. You end up living in a world if you find a way that can calm you down at times of intense stress.

All summer, I have been attempting to read Don Quixote. That book is quite a challenge. I even am trying to finish it. When I am reading that book, I feel like I am living in Don Quixote’s world. You feel like you are truly living the stories of the knight errant along with his squire. Don Quixote’s actions may seem foolish and crazy, but those are aspects of the characters that make him memorable. Sancho is such a loyal squire even though he does not understand his master’s madness and does not enjoy being a squire.

When I am listening to music, I am able to slow down. I don’t always listen to the same type of music. Sometimes I just need to listen to Christian music and feel connected to God. By listening to the Lord through music, He tells you that he will never give up on you. It slows you down because you forget about the brokenness of society. You end up living in the music due to how powerful it is.

In the world of musicals, you listen to the songs and you feel the character’s emotions. If the emotions you feel are the character’s, then what are your own? Your own joy, excitement, and love for the plot and characters get kind of added to the emotional nature of the different songs. That is why those three emotions are the strongest. If you think of the songs that way, then you can find pleasure feeling difficult emotions such as heartbreak.

All of the musical characters have varied lives, emotions, and fates. They have been either comic, dramatic, romantic, tragic, and tragicomic. They have been either simple or complex. The strong musicals are the ones that tend to have the most complex plot and usually are dealing with both positive and negative emotions. They are the ones where you continue to discover new things. The meaningful characters are the ones that continue to live in me. They live no matter what their fate is even if it happens to be death. When you live in the lives of the characters, it feels like an escape.

Slowly

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Time to Slow Down”

  1. Don Quixote has been indeed a challenge to me as well. I am glad I didn’t quit, but sometimes it surprises me how did I manage not to. But everything you say is true though, sometimes, some simple actions, some books or musical pieces just make you forget the rest. The perfect escape. We all need that.

    Like

    1. When I read the unabridged copy of Les Miserables last summer, it felt like I will never finish. But I had a goal of finishing by the end of the summer. There were times when I just wanted to give up especially in those boring history lessons. But I did manage to finish before the end of the summer. I still am wondering how I managed to do that. It helped have an incredible understanding of the musical. That allowed me to know what characters to mark and allowed me to write the songs in the book. I felt like I was kind of forced to read a lot in one day due to the enormous length of the “brick”.

      In fact having a goal of when to finish a book, it actually quite helps. It also puts your reading up to a challenge. It allows you to want to read more. So I understand that you are surprised that you managed to finish Don Quixote. The thing about Don Quixote it is easier to just skip a day and feels so much harder to pick up and attempt to read. Don’t know why it was easier to pick up Les Miserables, which is in its own way just as complex as Don Quixote.

      Like

      1. I absolutely understand, what you mean with the boring history lessons, as Victor Hugo’s style is like that. I remember the same happening when I was reading “Notre-Dame de Paris”, although the volume can’t be possibly compared to “Les Miserables”. And yes, I had a deadline with Don Quixote too, I had to finish it by the end of the summer. It was a real test of willpower, I must admit, but it was worth it. It is one of the world’s pearls of literature and philosophy. I was tested when reading “Das Schloss” (The Castle) of Franz Kafka as well, so much “insane absurdity” to be real, but I got used to it, slowly I got to better comprehend and Kafka is definitely one of my favorites now.

        Like

  2. However despite those boring history, I understood that they helped me understand the time period.

    I loved the book and was able to note the differences and similarities between book and musical. Les Misérables is truly one of the greatest works to
    be turned into a musical. The show stays faithful to the in spite of some characterization differences

    Like

Leave a Reply

