A Day in the Life

Day 14 required us to write about a single day. I thought it would be fun to talk about a day in the life of Rent characters. Earlier in this class, I had to reinvent the letter format and I decided to write a letter to the Rent characters. In this post, I decided to still talk about the Rent characters, but will be talking about them in a different light.

For the Rent characters, they treat a single day as if it was their last day on Earth. That is due to the fact that they are Bohemians and want to live life to their fullest. These characters are also artists which range from filmmaker, musician, performance artist and club dancer.They live in poverty and half of the main characters are struggling with HIV/AIDS. These friends are all close to each other and there are three romantic relationships, which are Roger and Mimi, Joanne and Maureen, and Collins and Angel. They celebrate each single day to the best of their ability. They may struggle at times when it comes to HIV/AIDS and sometimes the romantic relationships have struggles. But still, they live life to the fullest and the friends always have a close relationship to each other. I am so glad that Rent is part of my life because the songs, plot, and characters are incredible. I am able to relate and connect to them and can understand what they are going through.Rent is one of the most meaningful musicals of my life.

This show may be sad, but it is all about celebrating life and talks about how fragile and short life is. It talks about what do you do with the short time that you have. It talks about how many minutes are in a year through its Anthem. “Seasons of Love” teaches people that the best way to measure life is through love and not through the amount of time you have. At the very end of the show, it ends perfectly because it ends with one of the most memorable songs. At the very last song, you really can tell that life can end quickly. Don’t forget that Mimi almost died, but in her near death-experience, she saw Angel and Angel told her to go back and listen to Roger’s song. Because of that experience, Mimi was able to come back and survive. The ending says that the best way to live is just to treat everyday as if its your last.

No Day But Today!

Below is the letter I wrote to the Rent characters:

https://megsdailymusings.wordpress.com/2016/07/12/seasons-of-love/

Frail

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life”

  1. I love Rent! Like you said, it’s such a powerful musical — not only does it have great songs and characters, but it also has some wonderful messages that we can learn from. ❤ I'm off to see it on stage this winter and I'm very excited!

    Like

    1. Some people just don’t understand why I love Rent so much. They are confused due to the subject matter, but I am not bothered by it. I feel like I can personally relate to some of the character’s struggles. I agree with you that it has wonderful songs and characters along with a incredible plot. In my opinion, the songs, plot, and characters go hand in hand with each other. I still have yet to see the stage show and it is coming to my hometown fall of next year. I so hope I get to see it and I hope you enjoy Rent when you see it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Although I am different to the characters in many ways, especially their situation — we also share many similarities. I think that a wonderful thing about it is that the characters can be very relatable to a wide audience! Thanks very much, and I hope that you get to see it on stage too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

