Songs of Les Mis

Do You hear the People Sing. Singing the song of angry men. It is the music of a people who will not be slaves again. When the beating of your heart echoes the beating of the drums, there is a life about to start when tomorrow comes. “Do You hear the People Sing”

On my own, pretending he’s beside me. All alone I walk with him till morning. Without him, I feel his arms around me, and when I lose my way I close my eyes and he has found me. In the rain, the pavement shines like silver. All the lights are misty in the river. In the darkness, the trees are full of starlight and all I see is him and me forever and forever. “On My Own”

To love another person is to see the face of God…will you join in our crusade, who will be strong and stand with me. Somewhere beyond the barricade, is there a world you long to see. Do you hear the people sing, say do you hear the distant drums. It is the future that they bring when tomorrow comes. “Finale”

Listed above are song lyrics from the powerful, inspirational and epic musical, Les Mis.

But, what is it about the songs that make people love the music so much? I am going to try to explain why the songs move people the way they do. I am a massive Les Mis fan and even still have a hard time explaining the strength of the songs.

The thing about these songs is that they are so very different. The songs manage to captivate, inspire, and move you in ways that you just cannot describe. The songs are so soaring, passionate, and filled with so much emotion.

The songs are of epic and powerful quality, which helps reflect the strength of the storyline. They have so much heart and soul written into them and due to that there is so much truth, insight, vulnerability, and honesty built into the characters. Because of that, the songs can bring you to tears and make you laugh.

Some of my favorite songs from the musical.

  1. One Day More (one of best act 1 endings)
  2. Do You Hear the People Sing (both versions)
  3. On My Own
  4. I Dreamed a Dream
  5. Bring Him Home (such a beautiful prayer)
  6. A Little Fall of Rain (gently touching)
  7. Drink with Me
  8. Master of the House (much-needed laugh)

The impact that the songs give you is one of the biggest reasons why the show is the sensation that it is. The characters feel so real and you can truly feel for them. Even though the title means the “miserable”, the show is worth so much more. It may be such a heartbreaking show, but it is so inspiring.

Why do you think the songs are just so wonderful?

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

2 thoughts on “Songs of Les Mis”

Leave a Reply

