“Be Who you are not Who the World wants you to be

Be who you are not who the world wants you to be

-Anonymous

This quote personally applies to me. That is because I believe that it is better to stay true to yourself then pretend to be someone you’re not. Everyone feels like they need to fit in and be like everyone else. The truth is everyone is different and there is no need to feel like you need to fit in. It is important to stay true to yourself because it allows you to be the person you are meant to be.

Don’t let society change who you are. Everyone has their different strengths and weaknesses. The same goes for hobbies, beliefs, interests, etc. True we want to feel accepted, but why feel the need to pretend to be someone else. Feeling accepted does not mean trying to fit in. It means that people understand who you are as a person. If you pretend to be someone you’re not, then you are basically nobody. It would feel unusual to do things that just don’t fit you.

I have never done anything that is just not me. I have kept my same interests and gained new ones that fit who I am. I have stayed true to my strong love for Christian music and Musicals. I continue to develop those interests by simply listening to those types of music. I try to discover more about each genre especially musicals. I say that for musicals because there is so much more to discover in musicals then Christian music. That is simply because musicals are more story-telling oriented because the songs are there to help tell the story. The songs are what brings characters to life because it allows them to express their emotions. It also helps you to get to know their personality.

There are other interests I have stayed true to. I also have done the best I could to express my love for volunteering. I may not do much of it, but at least I haven’t stopped. I am part of a volunteer club at my school. Volunteering really matters to me especially towards the homeless and those living in poverty. Since high school, I knew that I had to do something to give back to that community. I also had this deep connection to them and I still don’t know why. But what I do realize that I am meant to work in nonprofit and possibly start my own.

Society feels like we need to be like everyone else. But, don’t forget that the world is meant to be diverse. Don’t let other people’s opinions change who you really are. I have never once been someone I’m not. I have kept my beliefs and have continued to develop my interests. When I add a hobby, I still make sure that it fits me. I am the person I am today because I have continued to stay true to myself. We all are human, but we each are unique in our own special way.

The links below are blog posts I wrote, which connect back to this post.

Believe in Yourself

Remember Who You Are

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

2 thoughts on ““Be Who you are not Who the World wants you to be”

Leave a Reply

