My Thoughts on Hamilton

I recently read a blog post titled “7 reasons to love Hamilton”. The link to the post is listed below.

https://readingturtleduck.wordpress.com/2016/05/30/reasons-to-love-hamilton/

I first heard about Hamilton around the same time it gained all the hype. Here are my thoughts about what I heard so far. As far as the basic plot goes, it does sound like a good idea considering it is about one of our founding fathers.

But I feel a bit unsure about the music in Hamilton. The score is hip-hop and rap and the problem with that is I have never been interested in that kind of music. How can a score dealing with hip-hop and rap fit in the musical world? When it comes to musicals, I can be quite protective of the songs. The songs are what usually make me decide whether or not I love the musical. I have heard other musical scores that have a collection of other songs that are different then the typical musical score, but they do feel like they belong in the musical collection. These are scores such as “Les Mis” or “Phantom”, but they do work for musicals.

I am still trying to visualize how hip-hop or rap can fit into the musical universe? I in fact have listened to some of the music. Some of the songs sound like they belong in the musical world while others don’t. So far, only the non hip-hop and rap songs seem to work. I do understand that musicals must have an emotional connection. I heard from others that the hip-hop and rap songs make more since once you see the show live.

While I agree with things that the article said, I still do not know weather or not I should see Hamilton or not. In fact, I can understand the hype around Hamilton. That is because it represents diversity and is about one of our founding fathers. I think it also appeals to a younger audience due to the music. I think Hamilton has proved to be a groundbreaking musical because it is dealing with a type of music that a musical has never experienced.

What your thoughts on the whole hip-hop/ rap concept on Hamilton?

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

