“Be still and know that I am God”

This is from Psalm 46 verse 10.

This is hard line of scripture to understand. It takes a while to understand who God is. You never see him, but yet you can feel his presence. Having God in my life is such a blessing because He helps me become who I am. God created us in his image and formed all creation. He has this amazing capacity full of love, forgiveness, compassion, and redemption. I may be spiritually strong, but I still feel like I am still getting to know God. I feel like there are always ways to get to know God better.

I have my ways to connect to him. I love listening and singing to contemporary Christian music. The connection is the strongest when I am singing Christian music because I feel like I am filled with the Holy Spirit. Christian music is full of so much inspiration, spirit, and emotion.

Another way I can connect to Christ is through nature itself. The best place where I can feel God’s presence in nature is the mountains. That is why I love hiking so much. Going up the view, you are surrounded by God’s creation and along the way you can hear animals and sometimes a brook, creek, or waterfall. Once you reach the top, you can look at the view and you feel impressed by all that God has created. Sometimes it feels like you can look beyond what you can see.

Volunteering is another way I am able to connect to God. I feel as if I am called to give back to those living in poverty and homelessness. My spirit always seems to lead me in the direction of nonprofit. I know that I meant to work in nonprofit. When I volunteer, I get something out of it when I see the looks on the people’s faces that I am helping. To know that I have left an impact on someone else’s life is all that really matters.

So, what are ways that you connect to God?

 

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

5 thoughts on ““Be still and know that I am God””

  1. If you have a strong desire to work in that area, then it is a calling and your Soul’s purpose! Go for it! It not only serves others and makes them happy, it fills your life and your Soul with joy also!

    Like

      1. That is a wonderful idea! You really should do it! I believe that is something that is needed. I am also in the process of trying to get a non-profit started. I no nothing about legal things so I am looking for someone to help with that.

        Like

      2. When my son crossed over I was surrounded by many people and had a lot of support; however, there was no one present who had lost a child. Although I feel that grief is grief and pain is pain, there is a uniqueness to parental grief. I want to start a non-profit that is NOT a grief group but more of a first response for the newly bereaved parent. Someone who is a veteran grieving parent to just go and be present with the newly bereaved parent. The veteran parent does not need to do anything but be present unless the new parents wish to talk or need an errand done, etc. I would also like to give the parents “comfort bags” which would contain things such as lavender lip balm, tissues, journal, maybe something for siblings. In the bag I would like to include a flyer with lists of local parents’ grief groups and on-line parents’ grief groups for if and when they are ready. I would also like to call and check in with them (with their permission) later on down the road when everyone else has returned to their lives and forgotten the parents are still grieving.

        Like

Leave a Reply

