Spirituality of Bristol Pilgrimage

Just last summer, my family went to England for a pilgrimage because our church choir was in residence at the Bristol Cathedral. I still have no words to describe how transforming the trip was. It was full of so much spirituality. In fact, my family went up two days early. The following is a list of the different things that happened during the trip.

  1. Les Mis/Guards
  2. Fellowship among the Group
  3. Stonehenge
  4. Windsor Castle
  5. Berkeley Castle
  6. Chepstow Castle
  7. Tintern Abbey
  8. Hunting for Shaun the Sheep
  9. Ten church services
    1. Evensong-WestMinster Abbey
    2. Salisbury Cathedral
    3. St. Paul’s Cathedral
    4. Bristol Cathedral- best church service
  10. St. Mary Redcliffe

The best part of the trip was “Les Mis”, and seeing the guards. The interesting thing about “Les Mis” is my mom and I saw it the night before the group arrived. The next day my family was about to embark on a pilgrimage. “Les Mis” also is a spiritual journey of an ex-convict becoming a better man who became very saint-like. It has themes of love, forgiveness, compassion, humanity, hope, and redemption. That is why the show is inspirational despite the title meaning “the miserable”. Seeing “Les Mis” in London was a dream and that night was extremely epic, powerful, inspirational, and emotional.

So the next day, my family joined the rest of the group. In total, there were 72 pilgrims. It was the fellowship among the group that was the best part of the pilgrimage. If we did not have this love we had, then some of the best parts would have lost meaning. That trip was quite transforming and spiritual. I feel like I am closer to God because of it. It ended up being a part of my spiritual journey. The fellowship the group has for each other is still as strong as it was in England.

Transformation

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

4 thoughts on “Spirituality of Bristol Pilgrimage”

Leave a Reply

