Power of Evensong

Just last night, I got to attend Evensong at my church. It was so odd seeing Evensong because the last time I been to one was in England. Just being at this Evensong made me want to be back at Bristol Cathedral. Evensong surprised me during the trip because I did not think I would really like that service, but I was proved wrong. In fact I attended all the different church services during the trip. Seven of those would end up being Evensong and two of them were not at Bristol Cathedral. It was such a treat to hear my church’s choir sing in a gorgeous cathedral and as the week progressed, the choir just continued to get better and better. I remember being so moved by the final Evensong and because of that, I was aware of how meaningful Evensong has been and how it has been an important part of my spiritual journey.

That trip was very spiritual, emotional, and transforming. It was an important step for my journey with God. Because of the trip, I feel like I closer to them than ever before. What was interesting about the trip is I ended up liking more of it then I originally thought. I was surprised by how much I loved Evensong, Tintern Abbey, and Bristol. We just happened to be in Bristol when there were Shaun the Sheep statues hidden throughout the city. Finding them was quite fun and was one of the most memorable parts of the trip.

The best part of the pilgrimage was the fellowship among everyone. If it wasn’t for the strong bond that we had, some of the spiritual parts may not have been as meaningful. I still feel that same fellowship when I am around any of the seventy two pilgrims. All of us may have had different experiences, but the thing that we all shared in common was a love for each other.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

