Beyond the Barricade

Last night, I attended a “Les Mis” party at a friend of my mom’s house. Even though I was not able to dress up as a character, I did get to wear a “Les Mis” shirt that my friends made me. It says “Keep Calm and Talk About Les Mis”. The house I was at had signs of the musical throughout the house. Just outside, I saw the famous red flag from the barricades and there were lyrics from songs attached to things that represented the songs. For instance, I saw the line “rain will make the flowers grow” on a flower bed. Inside I saw the famous candlesticks and a loaf of bread. In one of the rooms there were actual quotes that Victor Hugo wrote.

There was karaoke going on. I sang “On My Own”, a song about unrequited love, which is Eponine’s solo. That song has turned into my favorite solo from the musical. That was the only song I sang solo that night. Minor spoiler alert: Eponine is probably my favorite female character from the musical. She may be tragic, but I love how despite her love for Marius being unrequited, she still shows true love towards him.

Somehow she was able to see good in him even though she was raised by abusive cruel parents who raised her to be a criminal. But she decided to be more loyal to Marius then her own family. When I sang “Bring Him Home”, it was sung as a trio. Singing “One Day More” was challenging considering how many people were trying to sing and all of the overlapping bits especially the part towards the end. I sang “Come to Me” and I sang the part of Valjean. I also got to sing “Red and Black”,  and “At the End of the Day”.

I was surprised with a signed copy of a souvenir book. Mom’s friend has a friend who knows one of the actors who played Valjean. The man who played Valjean ended up signing it. I was not expecting that all and I did not except this party to happen.

My mom’s friend and I both have a massive love of the musical. I still know that “Les Mis” is different than other musical. I cannot put into words how strong and powerful the emotional impact is. The way in which the emotions come together is very special. It may be so tragic, but it is very inspirational in so many ways. I am still learning new things about the musical despite watching the movie several times, 25th concert ten to twenty times, the stage show four times, and listening to the soundtrack loads of times. I love how this musical is very soul and emotional driven. It just touches you in such a way that is different from any other musical. My journey with this musical has been incredible because of what I have been able to gain from it because it truly changed what musical theatre is.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

