What it means to be a Bulldog?

What does being a Gardner Webb bulldog mean to me?

To me, I feel proud to be at Gardner Webb because it feels like home. I have only been there for three semesters, but yet it is helping me become the person I am meant to be. It is the place where God wants to be and it is helping me figure out what I want to do with my life. This semester, I think I found out I want my dream job to be. I hope to start a theatre for those living in poverty and homelessness. This idea combines both of my biggest passions into one. God called me to give back to those living in poverty and homelessness and I also have a passions for theatre especially musicals.

It is making me become more independent and is allowing me to go outside of my comfort zone.I am becoming more spiritually strong due to weekly Gathering services, volunteering, Fall Break mission trip, and relying on God to get it through the school year. The Gathering is Gardner Webb’s student-led worship service. Whenever I sing the songs we sing, I know I am being filled up with the Holy Spirit and it makes be closer to God. Looking at Gardner Webb’s sunsets makes me realize that I am at the right place.

I have made the most wonderful set of friends. Lots of fun memories were created by spending time with them. It includes celebrating birthdays, having sleepovers, eating dinner off campus and just hanging out. As each semester goes by, it gets harder and harder to see them, but it allows spending time with them even more special.

I am learning how to be a leader here. Next semester, I will continue being the leader of a support group I am a part of. I have learned different leadership skills through attending a Disney World leadership experience over Spring Break. Next semester, I am about to become a peer mentor, which is another way to help be become a leader. I still do not see myself as a leader, but I want to.

In fact as each semester goes by, my experience at Gardner Webb improves. This semester I was able to join my school to attend a production of the musical, Wicked, which was meaningful to me for more then one reason. Not only was I going with this school, I was seeing it during the tenth year the musical has been part of my life. That musical means so much to me and it still is spectacular. I also made a stuffed pink bear and named it Magenta. I attended my school’s Disney Leadership Spring Break. Seeing all of the work that happens backstage helped me learn to love Disney more. I learned how they use storytelling at every park. I was able to see costumes up close. Besides the two classes, I spent most of my time exploring the parks. I was able to meet a lot of characters during meals and during meet and greets. I attended a pinterest night and painted something to represent that trip. I went on one hike at Looking Glass Rock, which was challenging, but worth it in the end.

Overall, being at Gardner Webb has been one of the best experiences of my life. I cannot wait to see what the rest of my time at Gardner Webb will do for me. Being there has challenged my ways of thinking.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

