The Core of Musicals

The question is “what do all musicals have in common?” That in many ways is a difficult question to answer. Naturally I would say that all musicals are happy, have dance, and have positive and negative emotions. But that is not the case with all musicals.The reason why that cannot work is because some musicals are sad and some are not filled with the dance. In addition, some musicals are pure fun and basically just have positive emotions. I believe that all of them are connected in such a unique way. There is something special that makes each and every musical known as a musical.

In my opinion, the main thing that makes a musical a musical is their ability to tell a story through song. Through the song, the storyline is able to show its true colors. In my opinion,  joy is part of every single emotion. Love, excitement, and joy are the only emotions that can bring musicals together. The positive emotions do not have a weakness at all because they are part of every single musical and I am able to feel negative emotions truthfully just by seeing it through joy. The negative emotions on the other hand do have their weaknesses and their limits. It is true that there are some musicals that are strong in their negative emotions.Emotional is what makes a musical a musical as well. That is due to discovering the characters through song and the songs make you connect better.

Sad is in many ways kind of like the underdog of musicals. I understand it is a common emotion, but it still is a hard emotion. I say it is the underdog because it is not always strong, vulnerable, or captivating. But I have realized recently that is has much more to offer than it what it appears to be. I love the emotion the most when it is able to unlock its strength and vulnerability. I can barely relate to any of the sad musical songs, but I connect to them. Usually sad is at its strongest when a show has tragic elements and the tragic elements are very difficult to interpret. They are part of the happy musicals and if you can understand them in those musicals, you will be to understand them through all musicals. Happy musicals have unrequited love, racism, discrimination, animal abuse, and death and a lot of those elements are present in the tragic musicals. Sad shows do have their positive nature and are joyful.

 

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

One thought on “The Core of Musicals”

Leave a Reply

