Fresh Eyes on Musicals

I am surprised by how much musicals have changed over the years. They have been capable of things I never thought possible. Growing up, I was aware of spectacle, dance, the emotions of excitement, love, joy, and sad. I was aware of colorful costumes and lavish sets. I also had a strong connection to one of the musical characters. In addition, all musicals were happy. I also used full of life to describe all musicals and full of life was referring to a certain kind of song. They are the songs that tend to have dance involved and usually start out slow and quiet and eventually speed up and get more exciting. There was also an innocence.

In fact, now I formed a brand new perspective on musicals. The best way for me to make sense of the new world is to see musicals through joy and the happy musicals. Musicals have gained a vulnerability, which added to the emotional world. The happy musicals no longer were alone and I did not know how to respond. It was through “Les Mis” where everything I knew about musicals were tested and I discovered that tragic musicals and heartbreak exist. It showed me a different side of emotions because it added depth, insight, and truth into the emotions. I am able to see that musical through joy because it has a strong positive nature of inspiration. Despite being so sad, it still has themes such as hope, love, and redemption.

In fact calling all musicals joyful is better than calling all musicals happy. That is because using joyful is referring to the experience. It is the experience that matters the most. I go to the theatre to feel and to enjoy. I now use full of life to refer to something other than a particular song. Now full of life refers to the entire show because the story is coming to life even if a scene is death itself. Musicals are meant to be emotional and unique, but it is not easy describing the emotional world. Some common emotions are excitement, joy, love, sad, and heartbreak. I want musicals to have a mix of innocence and vulnerability, but at the same time there needs to be a balance between the positive and negative emotions. There is usually innocence in the dance and also in shows where there are children and where the kid in me comes out. The first time I see a new musical, there is always a strong innocence because you do not know what is going to happen to the characters. I still want the dance and spectacle to grow.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

