Life of a Gardner Webb Student

This has been my third semester at Gardner Webb University and I still loving it. This semester I got to see “Wicked” a fourth time with my school and that was meaningful because I got to see the show in my tenth year loving the show. That performance was spectacular and better than ever. It is just one of those musicals that gets better as time goes on.

Another huge highlight of this semester was going to Disney World with my school. I got the opportunity to go to all four parks. We were allowed the visit the parks without chaperones, which helped me grow. I also got to learn leadership skills through the eyes of Disney and their most important leadership skill is storytelling. Disney is most famous for the storytelling and the parks are made to look like the stories that kids and adults will recognize. They do that in the rides, restaurants, and on the streets. Seeing the characters is a huge highlight of being at Disney. One example of storytelling in the rides is the Snow White Mine train. During the ride, they incorporate the story of Snow White. You get to hear the Dwarves theme song and actually see them and you also see Snow White dancing in her cottage with the dwarves and you get a glimpse of the evil witch. I become a bigger fan of Disney all because of the leadership classes. It is hard to know how big of a Disney fan you are until you arrive at Disney.

Life of a college student is not easy, but is worth it in the end. It is where you discover what  you want to do with your life. College showed me that I eventually need to open up a nonprofit for the poverty and homeless population. I decided to combine my two biggest passions of service and theatre into one. I also am able to grow spiritually and emotionally every day.Gardner Webb is home to some of the most gorgeous sunsets and whenever I look at them, I know I am in the right place. My spirit is filled up each time I attend the Gathering through the different uplifting songs, which fill up my soul.

The academics are tough, but  they still have meaning. Sometimes you take a class that you do not like. One of the best ways to handle the classes is trusting in the Lord and keep a positive attitude. Try to find ways to manage stress and not let it control your study habits. Whenever I am stressed out, I usually take a break and end up coloring or just listening to music. Even going to the Gathering helps because it is a place to reach out to the Lord to ask for guidance. Another way I manage stress is writing another blog post. I try to stay ahead of the game and start papers early enough in order to take advantage of the writing center. I am a highly spiritual person and I try to keep a close relationship with God even if that is not easy to do. Once in a while, I do pray and the best way for me to do that is writing.

I am becoming more a leader at Gardner Webb. I am a leader of a group right now and going to Disney has helped. Sometimes, people are being leaders even without realizing it. I am able to analyze things at a deep level and see different perspectives of the same topic. Everyone is always impressed with how happy I always am despite all of the stress. The classes become worth it at the end of each semester.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

