Kiss Me Kate

Last night, I got to watch the movie, “Kiss Me Kate”. “Kiss Me Kate” is a musical comedy based on Shakespeare’s “Taming of Shrew”. When I found out what “Kiss Me Kate” was based off of, I knew I had to eventually see it.

“Kiss Me Kate” is basically a show in a show. That means that actors have to play characters that play characters. The leads basically put together a musical based off of “Taming of the Shrew”. There are some confusing parts of this show, which make sense later on. At the beginning, I was trying to figure out who was going to play Katherine, which was a little confusing. The main women wanted to play Katherine and it was hard to tell who would eventually get the role

This movie made me laugh multiple times. I kept on waiting for the song, “Brush Up Your Shakespeare” because it was the only song I knew coming in. It happened later in the show than I thought it would. I do not know the other song names, but I still enjoyed listening to them. More than one number was funny such as the one song where Katherine sings about hating men. There was one that was not part of the actual musical, which is basically about why it is hard to behave.

I about how light this musical was. Those musicals provide a nice balance between the other musicals in existence. This is one of the old classics and it is quite confusing when characters have to play characters, but makes sense later on especially if the leads are putting together a musical.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

