The journey of musicals through the eyes of comedy

In a lot of ways, my journey of musicals is basically a journey of the comedies. I know that it might seem like I am leaving some musicals out, but I am not. I say that due to experience  because I have seen comedies develop over a long period of time.

My journey of musicals started in elementary school. The comedies started the journey of them and are still growing. In elementary school, I saw the Disney musical movies of Lion King, Aladdin, Little Mermaid, and Beauty and the Beast. In that time period, I also enjoyed Sound of Music and Annie. At the time period, Annie was my favorite musical. At that point, I did not know that later I would develop a passion for musicals. It was not until I saw Wicked on Broadway where my love for musicals would be sparked. At that time I was twelve and I would be able to understand musicals better.

All because of this, I felt like all musicals would be comic because it was all that I had known. Some of the musicals I fell in love with in middle and high school were non-stage musicals. They are shows such as Enchanted and the different High School Musical movies. In High School, I would learn about Hairspray and Mamma Mia. Even through high school, all musicals still remained comic despite knowing that tragedies are a part of theatre, but once again there was no proof.

All because of the shows I grow up with, I realized what some of the most common emotions were. They were excitement, joy, love, and sad, but only one of them was felt at a very basic level. I would realize that musicals are known for spectacle, dance, fun costumes and lavish sets. That is all I had known grown up. The changes were quite small, but would mean so much more later on.

The last year all musicals were comic was in 2011. In the Fall of 2012, I started to fall in love with Rent. That was the same year I watched the movie musical of Les Mis. When I realized that there are tragic musicals, I did not know how to handle it. At first, the comedies were not that strong and I was confused about what just happened. Eventually the comedies would remain strong even if most musicals are comedies. That is why it seems unusual  that my journey of musicals is like the journey of the comedies. It seems like I am leaving them off especially because of the importance of Les Mis.

All just because comedies started the journey, it is why I see the journey of musicals like a journey of the comedies. Because comedies had to shift from all to most, I had to think of comedies differently. Because Les Mis made me analyze a musical at such a deep level, I started to think of comic musicals at a more insightful level. I started to notice that comedies have a dark side and noticed that it was easier to pick up the negative emotions, but they still are hard to find in a comedy.

All because of what I grew up with, I know that most musicals are comedies. But at first, I felt like all musicals were comedies. I hope that most musicals remain comic and stay strong no matter what. I cannot wait to see what the comedies have to offer in the future. I do not want the tragedies to catch up to the comedies which is near impossible. As long as the comedies grow in number at the same rate they have always grown than most musicals would remain comic.

Just to wrap things up, the journey of musical is basically a journey of the comedies because of how long they have been a part of my life.The comedies have reached a massive number of shows that musicals were always have a large amount of comedies. I still want the tragedies to grow in number, but as of right now one of the main places tragedy can grow is in the comedies. However, Les Mis is the only tragedy that has truly grown since I first saw the movie. If it wasn’t for my knowledge of the comedies, the tragedies would not have been able to grow.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

