Future of Musicals

Here is what I hope happens with musicals for the future. I want new musicals to become a part of my life. I want to discover new things that a musical can be capable of. I want the emotions to continue to get stronger in current musicals and newer ones. There are certain musicals which I hope I continue to love for many years to come. I want the comedies to remain strong no matter what happens. They had to learn to work with tragedies, which is very difficult, but somehow they managed to stay strong.

Luckily, there is a small amount of tragedies, but one of them truly changed my life for good. It tested me on everything I knew about musicals. That same musical did that because it showed me that the emotions have more to offer than what they had to offer before and allowed me to analyze musicals even deeper. I am talking about “Les Mis”, a tragic inspirational musical dealing with unrequited love, broken dreams, lots of death, humanity, sacrifice, love, compassion, hope, forgiveness, and redemption. All because of my obsession with the musical, I learned a lot from it. I learned how to analyze musicals at a deep level because I always wondered why the show is so uplifting. Because the show touches me at a deep level, it is important to understand why the show has that ability. It has to do with the power of the story and the songs. I do want more tragedies to become a part of my life, but I want most musicals to remain comic.

It is hard to believe that there was a time when every single musical was a comedy. However, musicals are better when most musicals are comic. It shows that musicals really are because it proves that comedies have a dark side. I have lots of hope for the future of musicals. I know the number of comedies will continue to grow and so will the number of tragedies. I cannot believe I thought I would hate tragedies, but learning to love “Les Mis” has showed me that there is more than a tragedy than sadness like I originally thought. All because of big changes, musicals have become more truthful, insightful, emotional, and deeper than ever before. In order for musicals to switch from all musicals being comic to most musicals being comic, the comedies had to reinterpreted and become reborn. I have seen big changes happening to new comedies and comedies that have already become a part of my life. I am able to find the negative emotions better than ever before and I quickly find a more dark nature. New kinds of spectacle have been used and different kinds of characters started to exist.

The transition is still happening because tragedies are a fresh part of my life. The main reason why I want most musicals to remain comic is due the fact that comedies have been part of my life since the beginning and whenever I think of what a musical should be, I think of the comedies. In my opinion, musicals should have spectacle, dance, and have positive and negative emotions, but overall I should be able to connect to the material. That is what really matters and the strongest emotions are joy, love, and excitement because they allow musicals to be the best they can be. It is amazing how musicals can change in the most unexpected ways and that is when musicals tend to improve the most. There are more emotions than ever before and they are felt at a more deeper level. Not all musicals have the ability to touch me deeply because sometimes I am only touched at the surface, which is okay to me. I want an amazing blend of musicals in order for a nice balance between happy and sad musicals, which is why I am glad pure fun musicals exist.

But than again, I do not fully know what the future of musicals will be like. I know that unexpected things will continue to exist. They are shocking at first, but you slowly get used to it. Sometimes it is as simple as a fresh kind of spectacle or a different kind of character. An example of that are the circus elements in “Pippin”, which is a kind of spectacle I never knew could exist. Sometimes it is more complicated than something that is simple. For example, “Les Mis” showed me a side of emotions that I never thought was possible. I had no idea my soul could have moved so deeply and that songs could make me tear up. I never thought a tragedy would have that kind of power or depth. I will just let the changes happen as long as most musicals remain comic.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

