Doors opened in musicals

“Some Doors Close Forever, others open in most unexpected places”. This quote comes from Game of Thrones, and I discovered the quote through one of my friends. This reminds me so much of my journey with musicals. This quote is the most true in the year 2012 when comedies started to go through an unexpected transition. When that happened, a door was closed forever, and a bigger door was opened.

This was the time when musicals had to transition from all musicals being comedies to most musicals being comedies. I grew up with comedies and did not want anything to change, but feel so proud that it did. I did not see that coming at all and I did not want that to happen. I wanted all musicals to stay comedies because I loved that world, but I gained so much from this new world.

The new world was opened in December of 2012 when I first saw the musical movie, “Les Mis”. Coming in, I did not know what the title meant and only was familiar with one song. I had no idea that a tragedy was about to become such an important part of my life. I discovered “Les Mis” was a tragedy right after the first character died. When I realized that I went into a state of shock, which covered up a lot of the emotions in the movie. I was so in shock that I was watching a tragedy and actually enjoying it. My mind did not know to respond to that. My soul was feeling the emotions, but I was not. That seems like an odd description, but it was so true.

After leaving the theatre, I had “Do You Hear the People Sing” stuck in my middle. Besides that song, I only remembered “Master of the House”, and “I Dreamed a Dream”. I went to the movie mainly to hear “I Dreamed a Dream” because I heard that song before and was moved by the scene in the movie. Because I was in a state of shock, I was not able to feel the emotions deeply or truthfully. After the movie, I did not know if I wanted to watch the movie again or see the stage show, but something told me that I need to learn more about the musical. Obviously my soul wanted more of “Les Mis”. I decided to request the songs through Pandora. In addition, I looked up information about the time period, Victor Hugo, and history of the musical. Eventually I became a true fan of the musical and decided to watch the movie again to make sure I still liked it. But this time around, I cried at least once and the emotions were stronger. It is musical that is meant to move the soul and allow you to dig deep within the musical. I eventually asked myself, “why do I always feel uplifted at the end?” That question allowed me to search deeply inside the musical and try to figure out what it at its core.

Overall, “Les Mis” is a story of sacrifice, love, humanity, hope, forgiveness, and redemption and that is why you feel uplifted each and every time. The love I had for the show would soon turn into an obsession and I knew I had to see the stage show. As I listened to the songs more and more and loved the story more and more, the more inspirational the story became and the less sad it seemed. As I continued to listen to the songs, the reactions just continued to grow and now multiple songs can reduce me to tears and I am not ashamed of it. The storyline is so powerful that it deeply moves your soul and the experience is hard to describe.I saw the stage show four times already- three at community college and once in the West End. All because of this musical, a new door was opened for the negative emotions and made those emotions much more real.

The door that was closed forever was all musicals being comic and the door that was opened was a world of comedies and tragedies. On top of that, musicals became more truthful, insightful, and deeper. All because of one musical, a door was closed forever and a new one was opened unexpectedly. I was not excepting to love a tragedy and fully felt like all musicals would stay comic. Understanding the comedies allows me to understand musicals as a whole because they started the journey. Because comedies were no longer alone, it allowed the comedies to show a different side. Because of this shift, it is easier to notice the negative emotions of them and how they have a dark side. I am still in the middle of this transition because the tragedies are still fresh in my life. Despite there being both tragic and comic musicals, there was a door that was not closed forever. That door was the joy, love, and excitement that comes when I see a musical. There are so many ways to interpret musicals, but I highly value the emotions of joy, love, and excitement more than anything. They are the emotions that are in each and every scene no matter what emotion I am currently feeling because they will never give up on you. When I am feeling heartbroken or sad or any negative emotion, joy is still there because I am still able to enjoy the show. There are times when I wish all musicals were comic again, but that door is closed forever and when that happens, I quickly realize what I gained.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

