Parable of the Two Sons

“A man had two sons; he went to the first and said, ‘Son, go and work in the vineyard.’ He answered, ‘I will not’; but later he changed his mind and went. The father went to the second and said the same; and he answered, ‘I go,sir; but he did not go. Which of the two do the will of his father:” They said, “The first.” Jesus said to them, “Truly I tell you, the tax collectors and the prostitutes are going into the kingdom of God ahead of you. For John came to you in the way of righteousness and you did not believe him, but tax collectors and the prostitutes believed him; and even after you saw it, you did not change your minds and believed him. -Matthew 21:28-32

What is this parable saying? At last night’s student-led worship service, this parable was talked about. It is said that too many people are like the second son because we do not always do what God asks of us. A lot of times people try to run from and are scared to do what God calls of them. We always try to make excuses and as a college student, it is easy to do. A college can always say “I have too much studying” and “I do not have time”. We cannot stay surrounded by our comfort zone because that is not what God wants us to do. Christianity is not about us; instead it is about serving God and doing what he asks of us. We need to stay faithful to him no matter what. Just like the second son, we say we will do something, but we end up not doing it. We need to be more like the first son who did what his father asked of him.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

