Musicals vs Operas

Recently I was able to experience my first opera at school. Così Fan Tutte is a comic opera with music by Mozart. Not only did I get to watch the show, I also got to be in it. I was in the overture as a dinner patron. I was required to watch the show for class and I had to talk about a performance that stood out and a performance that might have needed improvement. That was hard because the cast was so wonderful and it was hard to see an actor that needed improvement, but I just picked one anyway.

I spent all my life with musicals and never thought I would witness an opera. Operas and musicals are both part of musical theatre, but they have some key differences between each other. The most obvious difference is that musicals are traditionally have songs and spoken dialogue and operas are sung-through. But that is not really the difference because some operas have spoken dialogue and some musicals are sung-through. One thing I noticed about this opera is that the style of singing is quite different than how a musical singer sings. The technique of opera singing is much harder than a musical and it is also harder to understand what an opera singer is singing. It is hard to pick up on some of the words due to the technique. Musicals sound more contemporary than operas sound because musicals are much younger than operas.

After experiencing this opera, I hope to see more in the future. I heard rumors about the tragic operas and those rumors make it sound it sound like most operas are tragic, but because I am new to operas there is no way of knowing if that is true or not. The tragic opera I want to see the most is La Boheme especially because the musical, “Rent”, is based off of it. I want to see the differences between the two and I have an idea of what the plot of La Boheme is like. If it is true that most operas are tragic than operas and musicals are basically opposites. That is due to the fact that most musicals are comic, which I know is true due to many years of experience. I also know that operas are generally longer than musicals meaning they can last four hours or more, which sounds crazy.As of now, I love operas more than plays and I love musicals more than operas. Musicals will always be the closest to my heart, but I am open to seeing different types of theatre now. Musicals and operas are able to heighten emotion because they are communicated through song and they add a dimension of joy.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

