Parable of the Sower

This parable is about a sower who sowed some seed. Some of the seed fell on the path, but birds ate it all up. Some fell on rocky ground, and sprang up quickly, but in the morning it was scorched and it eventually withered away. Other seed feel among thorns, but the thorns grew up and choked it, and it formed no grain. The rest of the seed fell in good soil and brought grain, which grow up and increased in large numbers.

This is a hard parable to fully grasp what the meaning is. It doesn’t sound like it relates to the kingdom of God, but it does. Usually the seed represents humans, but yesterday I was given a different take on it. I was told what if humans represent the soil. The soil represents our triumphs and our downfalls. Some of those are “valley moments” and some are “mountain-top moments”. One time I had a large “mountain-top” was when I was in England. It was when I visited Stonehenge and I fully experienced God’s power. As I walked around, I could feel something was pulling me in. There was an atmosphere surrounding the stones that was strong and was very wind. I saw the wind as God’s energy passing through me. As I continued to walk around Stonehenge the closer I was to God. When I finally was able to see the inside, I felt so close to God almost like he was there with me. However the valley moments are closer to the mountains than we think they are. The valley moments are closer because usually something big comes out of a huge struggle. Just look for the signs that you know that you are closer to the mountains than you want to believe.

The mountains are like the rich soil in the parable. The valleys are like the seed that fell among the thorns. During the sermon yesterday, it referred mainly to the valleys and the mountains. Having thorns in your path is not the easiest path to be going through. They present themselves with many challenges you have to overcome. It will not be easy, but it usually ends by being on top of a mountain. Even if you are in the middle of being stuck in the valley, try to know that God is still there even if you do not believe that. Life will present you with challenges that you wish never happened, but embrace those challenges because they can make you a better person.

Author: mphadventuregirl

I am a strong spiritual person who is a big fan of musicals. This blog deals with spirituality and musicals. I am finding that by writing about these, I am realizing I know more about each of them then I think I do. I hope you find my blog inspiring!

Leave a Reply

